Food hype: Disappointing and sick!

My husband had a free day last week so we decided to splurge a little and eat out all day. 🙂

To start off, Peter’s Bakery wasn’t so bad. I searched for bakeries on Yelp and saw that Peter’s Bakery had pretty outstanding reviews. What jumped out at me were the many rave reviews about their Burnt Almond Cake. You would try it too, right? So I zipped off and got my hands on both flavors, original and chocolate.

20140507-074821.jpg

I’m normally a fan of original flavors but the chocolate really triumphed. If anything, I would get this again but I don’t think I’ll be heading back there. My husband and I both agreed that the cakes were salty. You would take a bite and get that salty sensation pulling on your tongue. Maybe this was a bad batch? But BOTH flavors were salty so I don’t think that’s the case. It was okay but I don’t understand the hype. Disappointed because I was expecting something great.

20140507-074827.jpg

We also tried Wing Stop for the first time. We ordered a small order of fries and the wings with hot sauce and lemon pepper. Both flavors were good but SO SALTY. My husband didn’t complain about the saltiness but I wasn’t a fan from the get go.

[Side note: I was told from my doctor at the age of 23 that I had surprisingly high blood pressure. I remember him telling me that it was 140/90 and that it was alarming to see someone so young with this kind of reading. He told me to limit my intake of obvious salty foods and sadly, Korean food as well due to its’ high sodium levels. So as of 6 years ago, I’ve been careful of avoiding certain foods and strictly limiting the amount of salt/sodium when I cook. So when something is salty or too rich in sodium, I can tell with the first bite.]

20140507-074836.jpg

I think I had about 6 wings with a handful of fries. I didn’t feel too stuffed and was feeling okay until I stepped out of the restaurant. I shook off the rumbling in my tummy as gas (haha) and went about farting in my car. My husband was horrified. 😀  We got to a nearby park and as we neared the swings, my stomach FLIPPED on me. I knew this was trouble. We headed home that instant with me moaning like a woman in labor. It wasn’t pretty. I don’t know what it was; the spicy wings coupled with the saltiness or a mild case of food poisoning? I am NEVER going to wing stop again. 😦

9 thoughts on “Food hype: Disappointing and sick!

  1. I don’t think everyone can make burnt almond cake; here where I live in Pittsburgh there is a bakery called Prantle’s that makes the best burnt almond, here’s a link to the article written, http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2014/04/14/prantls-torte-cake-almond_n_5133580.html. What’s nice is the bakery will decorate in the center with icing for someone’s birthday. I had one that said happy birthday R. The cake isn’t cheap, but compared to knock off’s like I’ve tried, it’s worth every penny.

    Like

      • It’s very moist, they are generous with their custard and you don’t taste any salt whatsoever! I simply love it, it’s my go to cake. They will ship it if you ever want to try it. I believe the link was in the article I gave you. If you do, you’ll have to let me know how you liked it:-)

        Like

  2. Oh dear! That salt thing is serious business. But it’s better that you are sensitive to salt (better than being insensitive though otherwise that’d be a super unhealthy diet)

    You could make wings at home! I have been meaning to do that forever. I think it’s surprisingly easy. Cover with some sauce of your choice and then pan fry and then cover with more sauce.

    Like

  3. Ugh, I hope you’re feeling better. My cowrkers love wing stop but I’ve never joined them because I just know I can’t handle it.
    Isn’t it disappointing when you eat something that is supposed to be “marvelous” but you end up not liking it at all!

    Like

  4. Pingback: What I ate Wednesday – Japan Town Eats! | lisa laughs

Leave a Reply

