How did I spend my 29th birthday?

Kyle hasn’t been sleeping well for the past 3 weeks or so. It’s been a nightmare. My husband is at his wits end but what can we do? We transitioned him to our bed because he wakes up 4-5 times a night. This is the baby that used to sleep from 7PM-7AM starting from when he was 3 months old! I hope it’s a phase!

But anyway, my birthday was just like any other day except for the fact that my husband took most of the day off to spend time with me. What a sweetie pie! I really appreciated him today. It felt so nice to have him at home with me. Our time together is definitely a luxury now since he’s so busy with work – even on the weekends! 😦

I first went to my primary physician for this weird skin rash that developed overnight. I got it after taking a nice long bath in my bath tub over the weekend. I was diagnosed with Hot Tub Folliculitis. It just sounds gross just looking at the word. It normally doesn’t occur from using your own personal bath tub but it can happen. Lucky me. My doctor says it’s basically like a staph infection but isn’t contagious or anything. It’s so itchy and it looks like red pimples. I am to take oral antibiotics and to slather on this antibiotic ointment on all the affected areas. So yeah. Boo.

My husband wanted to cheer me up so he took me to the lovely outdoor shopping mall, Santana Row. It was obviously empty since we went in the middle of the afternoon. It was nice not to hunt for parking or maneuver ourselves around people.

20140507-201415.jpg

20140507-201422.jpg

20140507-201431.jpg

We went to Pluto’s for a late lunch/early dinner. It’s a decent place where you build your own salads and sandwiches. We got the Modern Mars, was it? And the Chicken comet with a side of mac ‘n cheese. Do not get the mac ‘n cheese. You might as well get it from KFC.

Pretty yummy but expensive. Since I’m unemployed, I think everything’s overpriced. 😉

20140507-201440.jpg

20140507-201446.jpg

Then we headed over to Cocola‘s for dessert. It was so hard to choose but we finally settled on the Hazelnut Cake and the Napoleon.

Connie, if you’re reading this, get the Napoleon next time! IT’S SO GOOD!

20140507-201457.jpg

20140507-201503.jpg

20140507-201521.jpg

20140507-201527.jpg

That Napoleon really knows the way to a girl’s heart. It has everything that I love: flaky buttery pastry with real whip cream and fruit. This dessert has to be one of my top 5’s. No joke. Perfect way to end my birthday. 🙂

My last birthday in my 20’s. My husband asked how I felt about being 29. I actually felt surprisingly sad. It’s like when you’ve had the best time with your pals at a bar and it’s closing time and you have to leave… and you don’t wanna? Haha. Maybe I’ll change my tune when I actually turn 30? Because in a nutshell, my 20’s thus far has been pretty chaotic. I met my husband when I was 24 turning 25 so the latter half of my 20’s was thankfully amazing.

But my early 20’s? It was fun no doubt but full of rebellion, rage, bitterness, sadness – I was growing up and breaking out of my shell. I had my heart broken multiple times. I also had my share of breaking hearts without a care in the world. I fought with my mom tooth and nail about anything and everything. I learned the lesson of working hard for your money, how to spend money, and how to not spend money. Even with all that, I miss it sometimes. I miss being naive and being ambivalent to the world around me. I miss not needing my mom for everything anymore. I miss being young-er, having absolutely no fear, and taking on each day like a BOSS. I was reckless, yo. 🙂

I’m still in my 20’s. I’ll make it count more than ever this year!

3 thoughts on “How did I spend my 29th birthday?”

  1. I don’t think we should be allowed to be sad about turning older until we’re over 50 🙂 You are such a young mother still.
    PS. That dessert looks amazing…

    Like

Leave a Reply

