Trader Joe’s Review: Parmesan Pastry Pups

I’ve been a fan of Trader Joe’s since… my high school days? Class of ’03! 🙂

I don’t know about you guys but I prefer Trader Joe’s over Whole Foods any day. Whole Foods is just way too big with too many options. I usually exit the store with nothing in hand and zip on over to Trader Joe’s. Trader Joe’s is small but compact and efficient with it’s pick of delicious foods and goodies. And c’mon, you guys have to give it up for their 19-29 cents bananas. And no, I am not being compensated for anything – this is my personal opinion on the product.

I hope these reviews will come in handy for some of you who are Trade Joe’s fan and were debating on what to get this week!

20140416-084159.jpg

20140416-084232.jpg

Product: Trader Joe’s Parmesan Pastry Pups – $4.50
Description: Uncured mini beef franks, wrapped in puff pastry and sprinkled with Parmesan cheese.
Nutrition at a glance: 290 calories for 4 franks. 3.5 servings in total.
Directions: Preheat oven to 375 degrees for 10 minutes. Place frozen pups on a lightly greased baking sheet and pop them in the oven for 20-25 minutes. Cooking time may vary.

Summary: All in all, my husband and I enjoyed it. Ours only took 15 minutes, so make sure to check on it at that point. They didn’t look very nice when I first opened it but the pastries did puff up and looked a lot like the picture on the front of the box. My only complaint is that I wish the franks were a bit bigger. I would definitely buy them again if I had to entertain guests but I don’t think this will be a frequent buy. Too fancy for everyday eats!

20140416-084205.jpg

20140416-084211.jpg

20140416-084218.jpg

20140416-084224.jpg

 

6 thoughts on “Trader Joe’s Review: Parmesan Pastry Pups”

  1. Ooh I like this idea. Puff pastry wraps are super easy to work with and taste great. I made pate chaud using puff pastry and this is another great way to use them. I may just have to try making it myself!

    Like

  2. My brother would love these! I used to call them pigs in a blanket when I was little 🙂 I actually like making them myself with the pillsbury dough boy pastry and just buying baby weenies on the side.
    Have a wonderful friday!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

