What I ate Wednesday – Slow Carb Diet: Part 2

Yes. I am at it again. Or my husband is. My first slow carb attempt last year ended after a week. I was extremely strict on the diet and didn’t even lose a pound. I know that can happen but it was very discouraging! But now, after my first attempt, I think I know where I went wrong. I wasn’t eating enough produce and let’s just say that my insides were a bit backed up…? šŸ˜€

I think I’ll manage better this time around because I’m not necessarily putting myself on this diet. It’s just easier and cheaper to eat the same way. I don’t have to prepare and cook 2 different meals.

Breakfast: Egg white omelet with shredded mozzarella + turkey bacon.

20140409-093226.jpg

Still hungry after an hour so I quickly whipped up my own egg white muffins. Drenched with Tabasco, of course! So good! I’ll put up the recipe some time this week. šŸ™‚

20140409-093247.jpg

Lunch: Salad from Trader Joe’s + Diet Coke

IMG_5878

Afternoon snacks: Chickpea & egg white salad + not pictured mango ice cream bar

20140409-093331.jpg

Dinner: Sauteed chicken breast + corn + ketchup

20140409-093340.jpg

Let’s see how long I can keep this up. šŸ˜‰ Happy hump day!

13 thoughts on “What I ate Wednesday – Slow Carb Diet: Part 2”

    1. It’s super easy! Pinterest inspired.

      And yes, chicken is such a menace. If you’re working with chicken breast, make sure you half it length-wise or pound it out. Or if you’re like me who keeps drying out her filets, I just cut them into little chunks and pan fry them real quick on very high heat. How do you cook them?

      Like

      1. I have cooked it in a slow cooker a few times. BBQ sauce, ketchup, brown sugar and raw chicken breast in slow cooker for 2 hours on high makes pretty good BBQ chicken. But that gets tiring and I sometimes just want some sauteed garlic chicken. Whenever I try to cook it in the pan, I am so afraid it won’t cook so I cut it into smaller and smaller pieces to check whether it’s white in the middle and then they end up as little hard, dry bits lol.

        Like

  1. Mmm, were the mango bars from trader joes as well? I’ve wanted to try those but don’t know if they’re good! This weekend I just realized how much cheaper ice cream mochi is at trader joes than at asian grocery stores…lol

    Like

    1. They are! Love them! Although, I’d rather have them in popsicle form; easier to eat!

      And yeah, sometimes TJ is cheaper than the actual supermarkets! Can you say 19-29 cents bananas?! šŸ˜‹

      Like

      1. Hmm, I do know that carbs are very filling, and will make you slimmer if you cut down the consumption of it, but I don’t necessarily agree with Atkin’s view. I think a well balance diet is better. Many carbs contain dietary fiber and it helps to lose weight, lowers your LDL cholesterol, and gives you Sharper Memory. Portion control is key! That’s the hard part I thin, but it’s manageable. I don’t know….to each their own!

        Like

        1. I agree with you 100%. I feel my best when I eat bits of everything. Moderation is definitely key!

          My husband on the other hand prefers this method because he believes it works for his body type. So yes, to each their own! šŸ˜€

          Like

  2. I have so many typos! I meant to write “think” instead of “thin”. And for my first comment, “is” instead of “it”. Oops!

    That’s true, everyone has their own methods. Workout and diet go hand in hand, but surprisingly, it’s more diet than workout!

    Like

Leave a Reply

