My all-time favorite makeup products

Disclaimer: This is my personal opinion on the following products and I am in no way affiliated or receiving any type of compensation for this review.

Since I went through so much trial-and-error (especially with eyeliners!) with makeup, I thought I should spread the love and help those in need of some recommendations. This is a review on all the products I use on a daily basis so if you have any further questions about them, please comment and I’ll make sure to get back to you.

Stila Stay All Day Waterproof Liquid Eyeliner in Black $20.00

20131118-124843.jpg
After MANY horrible experiences, I found my eyeliner of choice. Whether it be pencil, pen, marker, gel, liquid, – this is THE eyeliner.It’s so easy to use and it does not smudge, budge, smear, bleed, transfer, etc. When I went to the Sephora in Beverly Center in Los Angeles, the Sephora representative said that this eyeliner was the #1 bestseller in the store. Not just the bestseller in eyeliners but in the ENTIRE STORE. And who told me about this eyeliner? My mom. She’s been on the hunt for a good eyeliner as well and she suggested it to me after she used a sample I sent her. She was my guinea pig. 😀

So if you have oily eyelids and/or hooded eyes like me, give this eyeliner a try. If you don’t like it, you can always return it and get a refund with your receipt.

MAC Pro Longwear Concealer in NW20 $19.00

20131118-125206.jpg
I love this concealer. I love this concealer so much that I use it as a light foundation. One pump goes a long way. One pump will give you enough product for the entire face and enough leftover for trouble spots, blemishes, dark circles and redness along the nose.

I used it extensively when I was suffering from horrible acne and it helped immensely. It never broke me out and it’s build-able so you can continue to layer on more concealer without fear of it caking. This concealer is light and truly long-lasting. I highly recommend this for everyone.

NARS Bronzing Powder in Laguna $36.00

20131118-125530.jpg
I first heard of this bronzer in a fashion magazine and was on the lookout for it at a department store. I forgot the name of the bronzer but when I told the NARS representative that I was here for a bronzer, she promptly responded with, “Oh, you must be here for Laguna.” So, yeah.

This has been my all-time favorite bronzer since 2011. There’s a slight shimmer to it but doesn’t truly show much on your face. You would think that it would be harsh and too dark for my MAC NW20 skin but it looks amazing on me. I am not one to go to a tanning booth or give myself an orange glow so don’t worry when I say it looks amazing. This bronzer is a bit expensive but it goes a long way. My first compact lasted 9 months or so and I used it practically everyday.

Tarte Amazonian Clay 12-Hour Blush in Amused $26.00

20131118-124636.jpg
I first heard rave reviews of this blush from beauty gurus last year but never had a need to buy it. Once my Sephora blush hit pan, I realized I was in need of a new blush and I immediately thought of Tarte. I’m personally a lover of bright pinky blushes so ‘Amused’ was the perfect pick. The blush isn’t harsh at all and easy to build without  it looking cake-y. There’s a good range of colors so there’s bound to be something that you like.

Benefit They’re Real! Mascara $23.00

20131118-125108.jpg
This was the bestselling mascara Sephora carried at their  Beverly Center location. And lo and behold, there’s a reason why bestsellers are bestsellers. The brush is quite different from most of the mascaras I’ve tried. The brush is more stiff but it truly does separate and lengthen each lash – I love it! I don’t think it’s a voluminous mascara, well for me anyway but it’s still pretty darn amazing.

“This breakthrough bestseller reveals lashes you never knew you had! The specially designed brush features staggered bristles that grab close to the root, boosting length and volume beyond belief. The custom-domed tip uses precision bristles to lift, define, and curl even your tiniest lashes. With a glossy, jet-black, long-wearing formula, you’ll flaunt luxurious, silky lashes that won’t smudge, clump, or dry out. True story!”

Lioele Auto Eyebrow in Gray Black $13.98

20131118-124525.jpg
I bought this last year summer and I still have more than half remaining. This Korean eyebrow pencil is a dry mechanical pencil and not waxy crayon-like in texture. I know some people like that so if you like that type, this is not the brow pencil for you. If you’ve noticed, all my products are light and easy to layer and this is no exception.

“The Lioele Artist Auto Eyebrow is unique because of its slanted applicator tip, making it simple for you to glide onto the eyebrows according to the natural movement of your hand/wrist. The delicate colors look natural and are not overpowering which can make your eyebrows look unnatural. Although the shades soft, the formula is strong and will not break or smudge easily. On the opposite side of the eyebrow color, a spooly is included to perfectly groom your brows after application. Take a look at this top-seller, you won’t regret it.”

So, that’s it! I covered the main staples of my makeup repertoire: concealer/foundation, eyeliner, mascara, bronzer, blush and eyebrow. If you have any personal favorites, please comment and let me know. To the detriment of my husband and my expanding makeup collection, I’m always on the look out for new products. To Sephora junkies like me, I’m $300 and some change away from becoming VIB Rouge. Maybe I spent a little too much at Sephora this year… 😀

11 thoughts on “My all-time favorite makeup products”

  1. You should try Lancome’s Hypnose Drama Mascara. It works wonders! I bought it in this set that came with the Lancome Art Liner Eye liner, the mascara, mascara primer, and eye makeup remover all for $30. Generally if you buy the eyeliner or mascara individually then its $30 so this set is a great deal! I think they have the set back again this year.

    I keep debating on getting the Tarte Blush but I’ll admit that I’m a cheap skate now when it comes to makeup lol.

    Like

  2. I enjoyed reading about your favorite products. I’m a product junkie too and always looking for new ideas. I also love the Benefit mascara. I’m pretty loyal to Bobbi Brown and Benefit, but I’m always open to giving other companies and products a chance, especially if they’re getting a lot of raves. My all time fav product is the Bobbi Brown Long Lasting Gel Eyeliner. The colors are so vibrant and it really lasts all day.

    Like

    1. I’m glad you liked it! 🙂

      The BB gel eyeliner was okay but I think the Maybelline gel eyeliner is just as good and cheaper. Have you ever tried it?

      Have you ever tried BB concealer? If so, what are your thoughts on it? I have the Urban Decay stick concealer and it’s ok but think I can find better.

      Like

      1. I’ve not tried it, but you’ve peaked my interest and I will go buy some. I’m always game for a product that is just as good, but cheaper!

        Yes and I’ve liked it. Right now, I use BB foundation in Warm Sand and it seems to be enough coverage. I used to have the concealer in the same shade for pimples and such. I lost it las spring and have not replaced it. The one thing that I really love is the BB under eye concealer. It comes as a duo with a cream and powered. It hides my dark circles really well!

        Like

        1. Yes! I’ve tried BB and MAC’s gel eyeliners and honestly, the Maybelline gel eyeliner measured up just as well or even better. I didn’t bother going back to BB or MAC. I used Maybelline for the past 2 years until I found Stila. 🙂

          The BB under eye concealer doesn’t sink into fine lines or anything? I’m always apprehensive about powder. :S Would love to try it out.

          Like

Leave a Reply

