Dim sum first-timers in LA

This post is long overdue but what with all the traveling and visiting family and friends, I wasn’t able to keep up with my posts. Better late than never, right?

After our delicious meal at Craft the previous night, we had plans with Paul’s long time friends for dim sum. I mentioned in a previous post that I never had dim sum until June of this year – and in Curacao of all places! 😀  So I wanted to try out dim sum in LA. I always heard great reviews about Din Tai Fung in Arcadia so we all decided to meet up for an early lunch.

Almost there! The ride there was gorgeous.

20131029-155933.jpg

Their doors open @ 10 on the weekends and let me tell you – the parking lot was already brimming with cars waiting to park and eager mouths waiting in line at the door. We put our names down and were handed an electronic device with a GPS that would tell us when our table were ready (Basically, like the ones you receive at The Cheesecake Factory @ The Grove). Since we got there fairly early, our party of 5 plus 2 infants were seated within 20 minutes.

While we were waiting, we took a gazillion photos of Kyle and his best bud-to-be, Jayden. That warning label really knows how to ruin a photo! Look at his chubby thighs! ….. and the scratches on his thighs. Hence, my failed attempt at cutting his nails. 😦

20131029-155951.jpg

6 month old and an almost 3 month old. The difference is huge!

Jayden is able to hold his head up without much trouble (still some wobbling but pretty much there!), able to hold and drink his bottle without any assistance, sit without help and looks like an actual person now. Amazing.

20131029-160032.jpg

20131029-160128.jpg

Kyle was being extra fussy so while I held him, Paul grabbed some things for me.

20131029-160044.jpg

I think these small pork dumplings were my favorite. Everything else was good but honestly nothing extraordinary. Let’s just say that I wouldn’t drive all the way there again solely for them.

20131029-160059.jpg

We went by Santa Anita Mall and strolled around (literally!) with the babies. After we parted and arrived at my in-laws, Kyle was taken away by his auntie for some play time. 🙂  Do you notice his Dodgers onesie? Paul is a huge Dodgers fan and was hopeful for the Dodgers to make it to the World Series. Sadly they did not but I wouldn’t be surprised to see a Lakers onesie presenting itself in the very near future.

20131029-160217.jpg

And since our family of 3 was heading down to my parents house for the remainder of the trip, my in-laws took us out for an epic Korean feast. There were more but I couldn’t fit it all into one shot. The word gluttony sums up this trip to LA.

20131029-160158.jpg

I somehow managed not to gain any weight but that was not the case for Paul – he gained over 10 pounds in 20 days! 😀

3 thoughts on “Dim sum first-timers in LA

  1. Din Tai Fung has such yummy dumplings! I also love Mama Lus in monterey park (which is where we usually go). Dumplings are the cutest things…haha

    Like

Leave a Reply

