Humpty Dumpty.

Thank you for your kind words, squigglefloey, annesquared, Hiking Mommy and Conyeezy. You guys are amazing! πŸ™‚

As for Kyle, he slept fine throughout the night but I was still being a worry wart this morning. I couldn’t tell if he was crying because he was in pain or because he had a wet diaper, was hungry, tired, etc. His lump on the side of his head was still very soft and the size of a small egg. I was still a hot mess. I kept reliving the moment he fell. I couldn’t eat anything since lunch nor was I able to sleep. I must have passed out at some point because I woke up to my husband waking me around 2AM. I couldn’t even enter the room he fell from. 😦

I didn’t know this but my pediatrician doesn’t open her office until past 12. She works at the hospital in the morning so it was extremely hard to get a hold of her. I kept calling her office for over 2 hours until I finally heard my call go through. Oy vey. I told her my story and she said he seemed to be fine but it’s protocol to have all babies under 3 months get checked out at the big hospital – JUST IN CASE. So we zipped off to the hospital and was promptly seen. Since it’s been over 24 hours since his fall and he seemed to be doing ok, we got the all clear. I am so glad we went to the hospital. It reassures me tremendously. The pediatrician at the hospital said that he seems perfectly fine and the lump on his head isn’t inside his skull and doesn’t seem to be a risk at all. THANK YOU, GOD. THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU. I am so relieved. I am so grateful.

And for other moms who might come across this post, here are a few key points to keep in mind for a fallen baby. If you notice any of these symptoms, go to the hospital immediately and/or call your doctor:

– Vomiting. Not spitting up milk but heaving up contents of his stomach. You will know the difference.
– Running a high fever.
– His eyes are not able to focus.
– Baby is not acting like himself. Again, i think you will know the difference.

This was such a wake up call for me. Kyle has been a relatively easy baby and our safety concerns fell by the wayside. I’m still kicking myself in the butt for it but am grateful that it’s not anything more serious. I’m sorry, Kyle. 😦

Leave a Reply

