3 weeks postpartum + Everyday fixations

We finally shelled out for an electric breast pump yesterday. Why you ask? Remember when I said I was experiencing numbing sensations last week?

Image

Well it got worse and I self-diagnosed myself as having carpal tunnel on my right hand and mildly so on my left. If it gets any worse I’m going to head to my general practitioner so she can refer me to a physiotherapist. It’s not necessarily painful but very alarming. Two of my fingers and a part of my palm has been constantly numb for over a week now and I’m scared that it’s going to be permanent. 😦

I read online that some pregnant women get carpal tunnel from pregnancy hormones, water retention and from the trauma of labor. I think it’s a mix of that and using a manual pump like an idiot. I honestly had no idea that pumping would mess up my hands. If I had known, I would have bought an electrical pump from the beginning. 😦

Image

And some of the things I use on a daily basis besides the pump? Breast pads, gas medicine for Kyle, thyroid medicine for Kyle since it seems like he has a minor issue (update on this in another post) and my anti-itch gel since I’ve been getting bit by mosquitoes on a daily basis now. No matter how much I cover up, they still find a way to get me. I was rudely woken up during a rare nap to see that I was bit twice ON THE FACE. 😦

Image

Honestly, it’s been hard this week. I have a fussy ass baby that cries bloody murder, I’m worried about his thyroid, I have hands that won’t stop buzzing & being stiff, problems at home in LA and mosquitoes constantly attacking me in my own room. I almost broke down last night. If ONLY these mosquitoes would stop magically appearing in our house!!! I don’t know how they get in! It’s driving me up the wall.

My saving grace? My husband. He is amazing. He is the epitome of the perfect husband and father to my child. He takes over for me with Kyle when I need to take a nap or leave the house to BREATHE, he buys yummy food for us when he knows I need a pick-me-up and is just always there to say how much he loves me, how beautiful I am and how I’m a wonderful wife and mother to our beautiful son. I’ve said this many times before but I will say it again: I am so lucky to have found him and for him to love me as much as he does<3

IMG_5556

And as for my body 3 weeks postpartum?

130823_3weeksPostpartum2

My uterus is basically almost all the way down, bleeding has decreased significantly, my linea nigra is still very visible and as of today, I’ve lost 25.6  of the 42.6 pounds I’ve gained. By the way, I don’t think I’ve ever mentioned this before but Kyle didn’t give me any stretchmarks!!! I thought they would have appeared after delivery but THANKFULLY, my belly was left intact. I am grateful for that. I guess I have elastic skin? I used Bio Oil during my pregnancy but I wasn’t even that vigilant with it. Or it’s genetics? My mom did get stretchmarks but only a few under her belly button.

5 thoughts on “3 weeks postpartum + Everyday fixations”

  1. Have a hug xx Stay strong! You hsve many things to be grateful for… nothing major, all the bothering things at the moment will go. Be happy ❤ Stressing yourself is not going to dolve anything. And you know it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

