What I ate Wednesday – Aug. 21, 2013

For those who’ve followed me long enough or who don’t know, I abhor milk. I hate the smell and the taste unless I’m dipping some Oreos into them. But even then, the Oreos mask the taste so I’m basically drinking chocolate milk which is NOT the same as regular milk in my opinion. Too much milk gives me a stomachache as well so I’m assuming I’m somewhat lactose intolerant. But anyways, to compensate for my lack of milk in my diet, I’ve been a fan and lover of almond milk for the past year or so. I love the clean taste and how I can put it into various foods: smoothies, cold cereal, hot oatmeal or into my Korean powdered drink.

My breakfast consisted of a small gala apple with a yummy Korean mitsugaru (미숫가루) beverage. You can have it cold or hot but while staying in the humid Caribbean, I like to take my drinks on the cold side.

I simply pour the powder into my waiting cup and pour in my liquid. You have to make sure to get everything dissolved with your spoon or you’ll be left with a huge sludge on the bottom of your cup. It’s delicious and satisfying! I remember my mom making this for my dad every morning.

Misutgaru is made by steaming then roasting grains like beans,  barley, glutinous rice, and non-glutinous rice or barley rice to make powder that is then used in a drink, with sugar added to meet one’s taste.

IMG_5668

Lunch consisted of an omelet topped with cheese and a peanut butter & strawberry jam sandwich.

IMG_5584

Snacks included a Greek yogurt (sans the fruit on the bottom) with a medium banana and baby carrots. Unpictured is a huge pita bread that I wolfed down quickly during my afternoon slump.

IMG_5649

IMG_5657

And dinner was a healthy chicken breast salad with tomatoes and corn.

IMG_5659

3 thoughts on “What I ate Wednesday – Aug. 21, 2013”

  1. I hate milk too! I have no idea why. Sometime during college the started hating the taste. I love almond milk though! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

