2 weeks postpartum – Aug. 16, 2013

kyle

kyle3

Time seems to be flying by at warp speed. I feel like I’m constantly playing catch up but I think we’re getting a better handle on things. We finally have some kind of set routine and as first time parents, we’re just crossing our fingers and hoping for the best.

After I was discharged from the hospital, our hired registered nurse had been by our side for 2 hours a day. She is a God-send! Her last day was last Monday and I’m hoping we’ll fair well; she has been the biggest help imaginable. Her name is Carmen, she is 50 years old, works on her own and helps new moms postpartum with newborn care. She was recommended to me by a good friend and I can’t thank her enough.

Carmen would come by in the morning and help me with a multitude of things: help me with breastfeeding, give Kyle a bath, help us with all the necessary government/hospital paperwork, check to see if postpartum bleeding and stitches were healing properly, answer ALL my questions and basically tell me all the tricks of the trade. She is a walking baby encyclopedia and I feel blessed to have had her guidance.

kyle2

Baby Kyle is doing fantastic. He is currently being fed my breast milk via the pump 90% throughout the day and being fed formula for the remainder of the night. Why so? Let’s just say that my breasts haven’t been very cooperative and with Carmen’s guidance and support, I’ve been able to find this solution! I’m pumping every 3 hours and feeding him every 3 hours so there isn’t a lot of leeway for continuous sleep. He’s growing and gaining weight everyday and I can’t be more pleased. It’s all worth it! 😀

130816_2weeksPostpartum2

And as for me, I’m healing nicely. My uterus has almost gone all the way back down, I’ve managed to not pop a stitch (THANK GOODNESS) and postpartum bleeding has been on and off as per usual the norm. As of this morning, I’ve lost 21.6 of the 42.6 pounds I gained with my pregnancy. I’m surprised how quickly the first 20 have come off since I haven’t been doing any exercise or sticking to any kind of diet. The only consistent things I have been doing is drinking a ton of water, taking care of the baby and doing chores, breastfeeding/pumping constantly and eating an average of 2,000-2,200 calories. Although, I think the last 10 pounds are going to be the real challenge. We shall see.

Besides being first time parents and trying to figure out why Kyle is crying, the only physical challenges I’ve experienced were engorged, rock-hard breasts the first week when my milk came in and my hands feeling the brunt of hard work for the first time in my life. As of 2 days ago, my right hand has gone numb and the tingling sensation is driving me nuts! It’s as if not enough blood is being circulated to my hands. My left hand isn’t affected as much but it’s getting there too. I hope it passes. 😦  But besides that, I am happy to report that our new family of 3 is well and everything is going better than I thought it would be. It’s hard work and practice won’t necessarily make our routine perfect but will make it easier hopefully! 🙂

3 thoughts on “2 weeks postpartum – Aug. 16, 2013”

Leave a Reply

