Did you attend your 10 year high school reunion?

Who else graduated high school in ’03? On one hand, I can’t believe 10 years have passed and that I’m inching closer to 30 but on the other hand, a lot of shit happened since then and I’m happy to be where I am. πŸ™‚

Image

by Zander Olsen

I’ve never liked high school. I had many friends but I just never “fit in” with my school. My high school runs along the Santa Monica coast in California and many of the kids came from the Hollywood hills and/or from wealthy backgrounds. Think of MTV and Lauren Conrad’s “Laguna Beach.” Actually, another very popular high school based TV show used our campus for their show. I wonder if anyone can guess as to which one? πŸ˜€

But anyway, I just didn’t fit in and never felt sad about graduating. I wanted to get the hell out of there. I couldn’t wait for college and for my life to start anew. So when I received news that our high school reunion was this year, I was completely blase about it. Although, I did have a couple of reasons of not going: I’m living thousands of miles away in the Caribbean, I was heavily pregnant and… the reunion is today. πŸ˜€Β  But even with those valid reasons, I wouldn’t have gone anyway. What would have been the point? I’ve BEEN speaking/hanging out with not only my high school friends since then but my junior high and elementary friends as well. And then of course there was myspace, Friendster, Facebook to help me along with staying in touch.

I think I might go to my 20 year reunion. That seems more justified and more fun to see. πŸ™‚

One thought on “Did you attend your 10 year high school reunion?

Leave a Reply

