RECAP: The day before delivery + What does a contraction feel like?

So, remember “My 38+39 weeks pregnancy update” post?

Well, guess what?

I was actually already 40 weeks + 2 days on that day and felt my first real contractions the next evening. Let’s just say that the “doctor/OBGYN/gynecologist that I was using was technically NOT a trained doctor. She is a midwife that calls herself a doctor and SOMEHOW gets away with it. [!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!]

I should have done more research before picking my doctor but honestly, it’s so hard to do when you’re in a foreign country where English is not necessarily the primary language and friends are only a few. 😦

But if you’ve been a follower of my blog from the beginning, you know that I’m a believer that everything happens for a reason. My baby boy is here. He is safe and healthy even though I had an incompetent individual assessing our health the entire time. God was watching over us and I am only eternally grateful that everything ended up the way it did.

The day before I delivered Kyle

Image

Image

My “doctor” suggested I get a stress test for the baby on August 1st. She said she was somewhat worried about his oscillating heartbeat. After seeing the results, she recommended that I give birth at a bigger hospital that was better equipped at handling last minute emergencies. She said she wasn’t TOO worried but didn’t want to take the chance. I agreed. What else can you say to that, right?

She put me in the care of a doctor at the new hospital and told me to go see her right away. Guess what I found out? I was told by the new doctor that my actual estimated due date was July 29th – NOT August 7th. She said if I didn’t go into labor by the weekend, that she wanted to induce me the following week. I was blown away. I did not expect this at all.

When this latecomer finally makes her debut, chances are her skin will be dry, cracked, peeling, or wrinkled — all completely temporary. That’s because the protective vernix was shed weeks ago in anticipation of a delivery date that came and went. A tardy baby will also have longer nails, possibly longer hair, and little or none of that baby fuzz (lanugo). [whattoexpect.com]

I went home bewildered and drained after being out for 8 hours in the humid Caribbean heat. For dinner, I had a sudden craving for KFC of all things. I had KFC only 2 other times in the past 2 years. I had a sudden craving for their filthy mac ‘n cheese, coleslaw and delicious biscuit. It was heavenly. It was exactly what I wanted. 😀

This was the night Paul and I decided to start watching the first season of The Sopranos. We both don’t know why we never watched this show – IT IS FREAKIN’ AWESOME! I love the character development, humor and wit of the script. Very promising, I’m assuming.

By the 3rd episode, I started experiencing stomach pains/cramps. They were subtle but nothing new; I had them frequently in the past 2 weeks or so. But I knew they weren’t stomach cramps any longer when they actually started to get longer in length. I felt the cramps around 7:30PM but only started timing them by 10PM as they came around every 20-30 minutes.

[I used the free “Full Term” app for the iPhone. I found it very useful and would highly recommend it.]

By 11PM, I knew I was having real contractions. Each contraction/pressure wave lasted a little over a full minute with 10-12 minutes in between the next. Oh, and by that time, I had also started losing my mucus plug. It was all very exciting those first 4 hours. 😀

And the most asked questions: What does a contraction feel like and how do I know it’s the real thing?
– Answer: From my personal experience last Thursday, it started off as a mild stomach discomfort. Then it slowly lead into mild menstrual-like cramps which then led into stronger menstrual cramps that started lasting longer than the last. I started timing them when I realized that the pain was slowly rising in intensity and length. I could feel the wave coming and I would stiffen and brunt the pain with moans/groans/shouts until it subsided. The contractions definitely feel like a tensing wave. You can feel it building then hit a sharp peak until it suddenly dissipates. My husband said he could tell when the contraction loosened because my body would immediately “release” of tension.

I decided to stay home and bear as much of the pain as possible before heading to the hospital. I hear hospitals don’t want you to come in until your contractions are 3-4 minutes apart. My “doctor” didn’t tell me that – the internet did. 😦  I headed in when they were about 6 minutes apart. That’s when I felt all hell let loose from my body.

To be continued…

2 thoughts on “RECAP: The day before delivery + What does a contraction feel like?”

Leave a Reply

