Maternity leave starts today!

Update: Kate & William just announced the birth of their son! Exciting news! πŸ˜€

I’m grateful that I’ll be able to take a full 15 weeks off. I get 14 weeks of maternity leave paid in full with another extra week worth of vacation time tacked on.

I think it’s Curacao law that you are required to start your leave at least 2 weeks before your estimated due date. I’m taking it 2 days earlier because I’m taking a couple of things into consideration:
– The fact that all the older ladies in my life have commented on how they predict my baby will be arriving by the end of this month.
– My 36 week ultrasound last week showed us how the top of his head has already dropped into my pelvis.
– I’ve read somewhere that 80% of moms give birth about 2 weeks or earlier than their given due date.
– I feel like I still have some loose odds and ends to take care of. Paul and I need to stock up our fridge and fill our cupboards with toilet paper, water bottles etc, take our hospital room tour, hire a maid to clean out our apartment, take care of legal paperwork for me and the baby, Curacao taxes, …

Here he is @ 15 weeks. πŸ™‚
Image
I’m impatient of my son’s arrival but honestly scared of going into labor. It’s like a two-edged sword. Every new symptom or twinge of pain is exciting but daunting at the same time. It sort of feels like the anticipation you feel when you’re in a really long line for a roller coaster ride (By the way, the X2 ride at Six Flags Magic Mountain is my scariest ride to date!). You can’t wait to get on but right when you’re the next to step on, you’re like, “CRAP! Why is that woman crying? Well, now there’s no point backing out after waiting in line for that long. Let’s just get it over with!”

Couldn’t have said it better myself! πŸ™‚

Image
So, how did I start off the first day of my leave?

I slept for over 10 hours and woke up close to 11. I complained about the pain in my fingers and toes and the husband proceeded to ask me why I didn’t have a shirt on. I couldn’t provide him with a sufficient answer. I don’t know either. But moving on, the husband made me a grand breakfast of eggos, eggs and bacon. I then proceeded to wolf down the remainder of the cinnamon roll I baked yesterday while learning how to swaddle a paper towel roll in lieu of a doll. Hey, you have to make do with what you have, right? πŸ™‚

Image
How to Swaddle a Baby

Image
Now, I am off to sterilize and pack away all the newborn bottles and gadgets that come with it. The baby isn’t even here yet and he’s already taking up so much space. I can only imagine…

2 thoughts on “Maternity leave starts today!”

  1. I’m still soo terrible at swaddling, haha! πŸ˜› And I’m so happy for you that you’re getting this time “off” although there’s still much to take care of. I know what you mean by that double edged sword. I’m speaking from my own experience, but for me at least, I started to feel a lot better about the thought of giving birth once I was READY. It’s almost like a natural process where once I was ready to give birth, my mind and heart followed as well. I hope it’s the case for you too,Lisa! Hang in there and God bless you guys!

    Like

Leave a Reply

