What I’m loving at the moment! – July 9, 2013

The Way, Way Back

Image
My husband and I HIGHLY recommend this movie to anyone. My husband and I always check out the ratings at Rotten Tomatoes before we watch anything and we know a movie is pretty stellar when both the audience (92%) and the critics (88%) give a movie high ratings.

I honestly didn’t know what to expect going in but I left with a wonderful ‘Money well spent!’ kind of mood. Steve Carell comes off as a different kind of prick (than what you’re normally used to in The Office but still just as awkward) and Toni Collette is great as the single mother (similar to her role in About a Boy but not as depressed and suicidal). It’s a wonderful movie about teenage angst, long summers, growing up and a bird’s eye view into a dysfunctional American family. The movie had great energy – reminded me of a mix of About a Boy, Napoleon Dynamite and Little Miss Sunshine = movies I loved by the way.

Inferno by Dan Brown

Image
Honestly, it wasn’t as amazing as The Da Vinci Code or The Lost Symbol but it was another thrilling read by Dan Brown. I finished it in 2.5 days. I couldn’t put it down! I love history and a chase so his books are my ultimate faves. I bought the Kindle edition for $12.99 on Amazon.com although I heard it was originally $9.99?

– Cheerios with almond milk for breakfast

Image

I don’t know why but I’ve been having 2 bowls of this every morning for the past week. It’s simple and the almond milk is a refreshing change. And no, I don’t put anything else in there.

– Pinky lip balms

ImageLeft to right: Sugar Rose Tinted – sheer berry rose in pink case, Dior Addict Lip Glow ($31), Lancome’s Baume in Love; Urban Ballet ($26)

It’s been awhile since I posted anything makeup related but I’m in love with these balms. I guess I like the higher end balms better. I know, I know. It’s just a balm so why am I spending over +$25 for a balm? Because I’ve always been a balm kind of girl and I know what I like. And besides, these are the only lip products I own so — quality over quantity!

I abhor lipsticks or lip glosses since they always either: bleed, get on my teeth, my hair gets stuck to them and they always end up on my white shirts! And not to mention that you’re always worried about touching up and whether they’ve traveled elsewhere on your face. I would always look in the mirror with the thought that I knew something had gone awry. Well, for me anyway.

I love these balms because: 1. they are moisturizing, 2. colors are amazing on me and 3. the fact that I don’t have to worry about transfer or carefully coloring within the lines. 🙂

– My husband who I love always.

Image
He was mosquito hunting. Adorbs. 😛

Leave a Reply

