Pregnancy: 35 weeks + Working from home + Glucose tests

– My Braxton Hicks contractions finally got me working from home and you know what? I LOVE IT! The BH contractions have lessened in severity and frequency by… they’ve actually disappeared! I’m not cranky, tired or fatigued as I used to be. My company loaned me a great laptop that I can use while working lying down on my side in bed. I’m so grateful! By working from home, my husband and I are able to save gas money, mileage and being able to nix my 5-day Starbucks tea habit. That adds up!

– Now onto my glucose test. My blood sugar came back very low at 65 but my doctor was concerned about a small amount sugar that was found in my urine. No bueno. She ordered that I take the 3 hour test. 😦

I fasted from the night before @ 7PM and headed into the lab the next morning @ 7AM. No food, no water, nothing. They first drew my blood, made me go pee in a cup and had me wait in the lobby for 30 minutes. Then a lady came by and handed me an orange drink to finish in front of her. I love anything sugar-laden but this did NOT taste like sugary orange Gatorade! Not even close! I sputtered and coughed a few times but managed to gulp it down within 30 seconds. She suggested I sit comfortably inside which was very nice of her. She said to yell if I felt faint or sick. I guess some women faint or vomit from the sugar overload.

I felt surprisingly fine. I felt a little tired in the first hour but quickly felt alert afterwards. I’m hoping that that is a good sign that I don’t have gestational diabetes? And thank goodness for my iPhone! I staved off boredom by playing games. πŸ™‚Β  But anyways, every hour someone came by to draw my blood and told me to pee in a cup. They drew blood 3 times from the same arm. I’m lucky that needles don’t bother me.

I emerged from the lab @ 11. FOUR HOURS of my life = GONE.

– My mom and some of my close co-workers think that I’m going to deliver early. I had that intuition as well for some reason. My estimated due date is August 7 but I’m going to go for the last week of July. WE SHALL SEE now won’t we? πŸ˜€

index

How Far Along: 35 weeks + 4 days

Weight gain: I just weighed myself and the scale says I’ve gained 36 pounds. Interesting. I thought I would have passed the 40 pound mark by now.

Maternity clothes? YES. My body is not what it was a month ago. I am amazed by the changes.

Stretch marks? Nope.

Sleep: Hmm it’s been okay but not fantastic. For the past few days, I’ve been waking up from a sore(?) belly. I don’t have indigestion or anything like that but my stomach’s been feeling achy.

Movement: I received 2 painful thumps on my right side two days ago but I’m thinking it’s because he kicked my pelvic bone. When I’m lying down on my side, I can somewhat see a vague outline of his body against my skin. IT’S SO FREAKIN AWESOME!! I also see his jabs and kicks popping against my belly and I love it. I just smile. πŸ™‚

Food cravings: No real cravings.

Anything making you queasy or sick: Not really.

Gender:Β Boy

Symptoms:

  • Aches in my shoulders, hips, knees and now my fingers and toes!! Every time I wake up, even from a short nap, the joints in my fingers throb and ache. They are definitely somewhat swollen and stiff. I wake up a few times in the night because of it. I read online that it’s due to the hormone progesterone and other hormones relaxing my joints for delivery. Oh yes, and water retention playing a big part. I say this time and time again but I am utterly amazed at what my body can do!
  • Frequent pains “down there.”
  • I get shortness of breath from time to time.
  • I’m not struggling as much when I’m eating. Strange. Maybe I’m not eating as much as before? I have no idea.
  • My fingers, feet and face have started to swell. Fingers definitely. Feet and face? Not so sure. It could just be fat.
  • I still feel hot & sweaty 80% of the time.
  • Digestive movements have returned to normal! πŸ˜€

Belly button in or out? In but not really? I don’t think it’s going to pop. I have a very persistent belly button that wishes to stay an innie.

Wedding rings on or off? Definitely off.

Best Moment of the week? I love feeling all the frequent punches and kicks. Bring β€˜em, baby!

Looking Forward to: holding him in my arms! ❀

One thought on “Pregnancy: 35 weeks + Working from home + Glucose tests

  1. Pingback: How Work From Home Moms Master Their Roles | Affiliate Marketing

Leave a Reply

