Weekend eats: My first dim sum experience!

Today is the last day of June. Wow. I can expect my little one in the next 5 weeks or less! Whee! ๐Ÿ˜€

And yes, its true. I had my first dim sum experience this weekend in the Caribbean of all places. I don’t know why I never had it before. I was born and raised in Los Angeles where dim sum spots are a dime a dozen; how could I not? I have no plausible answer. Let’s just say that I still have many foods and cuisines to discover and dim sum just happened to be one of them. ๐Ÿ™‚

I shared this wonderful and tasty experience with my lovely co-workers/friends, Shadia and Christine. I am so happy to have found this gem! ๐Ÿ™‚

Image

I was surprised to see Korean on there. I’ve come to discover that many people on the island don’t know that Korea exists. If you look Asian, the locals here immediately askย  if you’re Chinese. I say that I’m Korean and they say, “No? Not Chinese?”

Image

We each got an order of king sized shrimp dumplings, pork buns, shrimp shumai, spring rolls and spare ribs.

Image

Image

King sized shrimp dumplings. These were my ultimate favorite. Holy moly was it good!

Image

Image

IMG_5477

I also to-go’d red bean steamed buns. I was so glad to see them on the menu! My ultimate favorite snack! My mom would steam these for me all the time at home.

IMG_5475

IMG_5476

Black bean soy beverage. Another taste of home.

I to-go’d some food for Paul and he was happy with the quality of the food as well. And he would know! He’s been to Shanghai and Taiwan more than a handful of times with his friends. I think we’re heading back here next weekend. ๐Ÿ˜‰

5 thoughts on “Weekend eats: My first dim sum experience!”

  1. Looks good! I just had dim sum yesterday! So yummy!! I was disappointed when I had dim sum in Cali. I think out in Sunnyvale, but hopefully I’ll try another place that’s just as good as Boston’s dim sum. I’ve tried dim sum in different cities and it’s incomparable to Boston’s haha. Maybe it’s just the greasiness :p

    Like

  2. Ahh I need to catch up on blogs!!! Can’t believe you only have a few weeks left. AND I can’t believe this was your first dim sum experience! haha

    Like

Leave a Reply

