I’m aging. Not horribly but visibly.

I see the effects of aging now. It’s not ghastly since I’m still in my late 20’s but we will see after the arrival of baby. 😉

  1. There is some kind of slight line/droop that’s been forming under my left eye for the past 4 years or so. It goes away on its’ own accord usually but now I see that it’s here to stay.
  2. My once luscious locks are now thinning. I don’t think this has anything to do with age though. I stupidly got my hair chemically straightened 2 years ago and have been dealing with the repercussions. 😦
  3. I have self-diagnosed myself with some form of TMD (Temporomandibular Disorder). Every time I eat, the muscles on the sides of my face noticeably bulge out. I feel a lot of pressure and embarrassment since it doesn’t settle down unless I press them down or wait 10 minutes. It’s from a lifetime habit of not grinding but clenching my teeth during sleep. It doesn’t help that I enjoy hard foods like apples, wasabi peas, carrots and crunchy chicken marrow. I should probably invest in a mouth guard.
  4. My flaring adult acne and eczema are finally somewhat under control but only from using a $221 prescribed medication. Out of ALL the medications I was prescribed, OF COURSE the most expensive one agrees with me. My husband is not surprised.
  5. I didn’t think this was going to happen to me but the heels of my feet are now cracking. This saddens me the most because I grew up thinking that I would never get cracked heels like my mom. Silly rabbit. Trix are for kids. 😦

But all in all, I am ok with aging. I don’t mind hitting the big 3-0. Every new year resolution has been the same for the past few years: Happiness. To find happiness in everything. This small change in thought has changed my life profoundly. So yes, I see that I’m aging. Big whoop. I am aging. And who the hell is not? 🙂

Instead of aging, I am more nervous at the thought of my parents aging and/or getting sick. I distinctly remember a conversation I had with a friend when I was 8 years old. We were patiently waiting in the lunch line at the school cafeteria and she randomly asked me, “Do you think you’ll live to 100?” I said I didn’t know but I didn’t want to outlive my parents because I didn’t want to see them die. I know. Morbid for such a young child but that’s how I’ve always been. Too mature for my age.

Leave a Reply

