A quick hello to June.

June is here. No weather changes to comment here in the Caribbean. 90 degrees and humid as always. But that doesn’t mean the heat isn’t kicking my butt. While waiting for our lunch at our favorite lunch spot yesterday, I became a pregnant monster for the first time in my pregnancy. Even though we were in an air-conditioned room, I was melting through my clothes. Mind you, my husband and no other patron seemed to be sweltering like the hog that I felt I was.

My husband knew he had to get me home when our food arrived and I couldn’t eat after one bite. My chicken sandwich tasted sour and I had completely lost my appetite. It could have been dehydration and being over heated but I had stopped responding to his questions and was desperately attempting to not feel the beads of sweat trickling down my clothes. IT WAS HORRIBLE. 😦

______________________________________________________________________

And as for today, he whipped us up a fast and delicious brunch. Scrambled eggs (mostly egg whites) with some cheddar cheese, ketchup and sour cream, 3 pieces of turkey bacon and 2 pieces of wheat toast with butter. Yum!

I say mostly egg whites because I’m somewhat intolerant to the yolk. Is it just me or is this for everyone? When I eat one too many full eggs…. let’s just say that you want to be as far away from me as possible. :mrgreen:

Image
And while the husband was slaving away at the stove, I decided to get some nesting done and put together the baby’s mosquito net and accompanying stand. I’m usually horrible with these things but I managed it! 🙂

A mosquito net is a MUST for babies in the Caribbean. I hope this net will effectively keep those blood-suckers out. I still have a hard time dealing with bites and I know it’s going to break my heart every time I see my newborn crying over bites that he can’t scratch. 😦

Image

After rolling about in bed for a few hours, we went on a quick 40-minute walk and a fun dip in our pool. I can’t swim so I was mostly glued to Paul’s back. 🙂

Paul wanted to start dinner early so we quickly cooked up a frozen pizza and some yummy sweet potatoes.

Can you believe that I got incredibly full after ONE slice? My stomach has definitely shrunk or has been misplaced somewhere with the growing baby. Where you hiding my stomach, baby?!

Image

Image

Image

Cute Korean socks my mother-in-law gave me. They’re padded at the bottom so I don’t somehow slip and break my neck. 😉

Oh, and the random panda on the side? Just a body sponge shaped like a panda. I love Daiso!!!

5 thoughts on “A quick hello to June.”

  1. I thought you were going to say you roughed up the waiter or something when I first started reading, lol. One of my most sweetest friends almost lost in over an incorrectly prepared burger one time when she was pregnant…still a source of great amusement (for us not her so much) to this day 🙂

    Like

      1. Hahah. I love reading all those autocorrect foibles on the web. Yours isn’t so bad. 🙂

        I felt like I had ruined the one lunch date I had with my husband this week by acting like a constipated child. 😦

        Like

Leave a Reply

