Pregnancy: 29 weeks + something-odd days

I’m almost hitting 30 weeks but thought I should stick to the nitty gritty.

Image

How Far Along: 29 weeks & something-odd days. I can’t tell anymore because it always changes when I go in for a check-up.

*This is just a guideline and the exact weekly breakdown may differ from source to source.

Weeks 1 – 4 5 – 8 9 – 13 14 – 17 18 – 21 22 – 26 27 – 30 31 – 35 36 – 40
Which
Month
are you in?
You are
in your
first
month
You are
in your
second
month
You are
in your
third
month
You are
in your
fourth
month
You are
in your
fifth
month
You are
in your
sixth
month
You are
in your
seventh
month
You are
in your
eighth
month
You are
in your
ninth
month
.
This is
Month
one two three four five six seven eight nine
Trimester first second third


Weight gain:
I honestly have no idea. The number on the scale has been scaring me so I haven’t been checking for the past 2 weeks. I’m going in for a check-up next week anyway. 😛  It has to be 30+ by now.
Maternity clothes? I’m still mixing and matching some maternity clothes in with my pre-pregnancy clothes. Like the maxi dress and the black cardigan above; I wore this all the time pre-pregnancy. Well, now my boobs are popping out from every which way and I have to wear a tank top to cover my modesty but other than that, finding clothes that fit haven’t been that much of a hindrance.
Stretch marks? Nope. Thank goodness! I hope I have none or get only a few squiggly lines under my belly button like my mom.
Sleep: It’s been ok but I’ll go into some of the symptoms that have been waking me up at night.
Movement: His movements are definitely stronger than ever. I guess I’m probably going to say this with every new update. :P   I usually feel him move or kick about after a meal or if I’m lying down. Now, it’s a little more frequent but nothing crazy. I get a big *WHOMP* from him at least twice day now.
Food cravings: As of last week, I’ve been craving more sweets and incredibly, chicken.
Anything making you queasy or sick: Nope.
Gender: Boy
Symptoms:

  • Tailbone pain on my right side. It feels like a metal screw that didn’t get screwed in properly. This usually happens when I’ve been on my feet for too long, sitting at work without a quick break, if I roll over too suddenly, …. basically anytime.
  • I get shortness of breath at times when I’m lying down. It disappears quickly but it’s alarming when it happens.
  • My voracious appetite from my last update dissipated at last and am now struggling to finish a proper meal without feeling like a balloon ready to pop. I get full quickly and feel distention with almost every meal.
  • I’ve been dealing with some itchiness around my belly. As I noted above in my sleep section, sleep has been ok but not great because I would wake up from time to time from feeling itchy! It doesn’t seem serious but it is cumbersome.
  • My charley-horse cramps, heartburn/constipation & Braxton-Hicks contractions barely pop up anymore. Awesome!
Belly button in or out? In. However, it seems to be fighting very hard to stay in. 😛
Wedding rings on or off? Off. I can still wear them but it’s getting to that uncomfortable stage. My hands are definitely poofier and fatter.
Best Moment of the week? Hitting my 3rd trimester! I also had my first baby dream. I somehow woke up to my baby crying and I instinctively already knew what to do. It was amazing. It was also strange that I seemed to have zipped through labor & delivery without any memory or pain of it. 😀
Looking Forward to: Spending more quality time with my husband before baby’s arrival.
Question

  • I’ve heard that boys carry low and pointy and girls are high up and rounder. Do you think that is the case? So far, this rings true for me and my co-worker who is carrying a girl. Many co-workers have noted the differences in our bellies but I honestly think it just depends on the mother’s body type and how the baby is positioned. Yes/No?
  • My co-worker says her girl bounces all over the place and she can feel her every which way. In contrast, my baby boy is as lazy as ever and has only now started to make his presence known by thumping here and there with the occasional pats and pokes. And they are usually centered around my lower abdomen or my pelvic region. So yes, he is very low and very particular in his ways. I hope he’s not as stubborn as his parents! 😀
5 thoughts on “Pregnancy: 29 weeks + something-odd days”

  1. Hello Lisa! Just found your site this morning. I wanted to ask if you might be willing to share your pregnancy series with my site which allows moms-to-be to get a sense of how different everyone carries their pregnancy.

    I would be happy to link to your blog from any pics you would be willing to add, or keep them anonymous, whichever you prefer.

    Either way, let me know what you think!

    Thanks and congratulations!

    -Jennifer

    The Maternity Gallery
    http://www.maternitygallery.com

    Like

    1. Hi Jennifer! Thank you! 🙂
      And thank you for reaching out! I would love to be of help. Yes, feel free to link anything from my blog to yours. Let me know if you need anything else!

      Like

    2. Sorry about my confusing earlier reply! I just saw your site and see what you mean. 😛

      I actually have photos from the very beginning at 3 weeks. I’ll post all of them if I can. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

