I’m 28 today.

Image
by Shel Silverstein

I’m etching closer to 30. I wonder how that’s going to feel? Am I going to freak out like Rachel in that Friends episode? Honestly, I think I’m going to be too busy working full-time and running after a 2 year old to be bothered by the societal nuances of aging. I’ve never cared much for my birthday. Everyone has one. I’ve never understood what the big hoopla was about. I’m happy with hugs, a delicious meal and huge slices of cake.

I’m only grateful that I made it to this age without many hindrances. I’m grateful that my parents are alive and healthy. I thank God that he’s bestowed upon me this life that I could have only imagined in my wildest of daydreams. He has been too generous with me. Unconditional love is hard to overlook when its’ staring at you in the face. ❤

I thought the snake was appropriate since this is the year of the water snake. 🙂

5 thoughts on “I’m 28 today.”

  1. Ha, ha! The episode where Rachel turns 30 is one of my favourites. I always think it would be fun to watch that episode when I turn 30, and just celebrate the hilarity of growing older.

    Like

Leave a Reply

