26 weeks: Appetite has been off the charts!

My baby must be going through some kind of growth spurt because I can’t stop eating. Even though I just had a sandwich, an apple, yogurt, sweet snack, etc just an hour before, I feel as if I’ve been starving the whole day through! I think this is the first time in my pregnancy that I’ve felt this intense of an insatiable hunger. And it’s not a craving either – it’s a deep-rooted hunger.

Even with all my weight gain, everyone at home commented that I didn’t get very big. Even the doctor noted that the baby should be coming in at 20-26 cm and I was at a normal 22. She was also happy with my low blood pressure of 100/70. I thought I would surely have been on the high range of everything. I wonder where all this weight is going?Β  Maybe my long torso is helping? But anyways, that proves to tell you that what you see on the scale doesn’t necessarily reflect true weight gain. For all those expecting mothers who are worried as I was with the weight gain, just keep reminding yourself that your baby and your body needs this extra weight. Accept it and move on! You’ll be ok. πŸ™‚

However, I must say that angling is everything. πŸ˜€

Image

Image

How Far Along: 26 weeks & 5 days. Almost hitting my 7th month & nearing my 3rd trimester.

*This is just a guideline and the exact weekly breakdown may differ from source to source.

Weeks 1 – 4 5 – 8 9 – 13 14 – 17 18 – 21 22 – 26 27 – 30 31 – 35 36 – 40
Which
Month
are you in?
You are
in your
first
month
You are
in your
second
month
You are
in your
third
month
You are
in your
fourth
month
You are
in your
fifth
month
You are
in your
sixth
month
You are
in your
seventh
month
You are
in your
eighth
month
You are
in your
ninth
month
.
This is
Month
one two three four five six seven eight nine
Trimester first second third


Weight gain:
As of today, 27 pounds.
Maternity clothes? I think a lot of pregnant women will agree with me that most maternity clothes are hideous. I have been lucky to find some comfortable leggings but everything else is truly a miss for me. They will have to do because I have no other choice but I think they are truly awful.
Stretch marks? Nope.
Sleep: It’s been ok but could be better. I miss my bed in LA. 😦
Movement: His movements are definitely stronger than ever. I guess I’m probably going to say this with every new update. πŸ˜›Β  I usually feel him move or kick about after a meal or if I’m lying down.
Food cravings: No true cravings as I mentioned before but still an aversion to meat. I have to remind myself to eat it from time to time because of my low iron count.
Anything making you queasy or sick: I don’t think so.
Gender:Β Boy
Symptoms:

  • Tailbone pain on my right side. It feels like a metal screw that didn’t get screwed in properly. This usually happens when I’ve been on my feet for too long, sitting at work without a quick break, if I roll over too suddenly, …. basically anytime.
  • Difficult to breathe when walking up an incline. I actually start huffing & puffing. Embarrassing to say but I even sweat a little bit.
  • Voracious appetite.
  • I almost forgot to mention that as of last week, I’ve been getting hit with frequent charley horse cramps! It’s always my right calf!

    No one is entirely sure why these sharp, lower-leg cramps crop up during the second and third trimesters; doctors theorize that it may have to do with the pressure of the uterus on certain nerves, fatigue, or decreased circulation in your legs from the pressure of the baby on blood vessels. In any case, you may be awakened with sudden painful spasms in your calf muscles (they most often occur at night). (Parents Magazine)

  • Thankfully, my heartburn/constipation & Braxton-Hicks contractions have decreased significantly. Thank goodness!!!
Belly button in or out? In but it depends on the time of day. Some days, it looks like it’s going to pop at any second and on other days, it looks pretty normal.
Wedding rings on or off?Β Off. I can still wear them but it’s getting to that uncomfortable stage.
Best Moment of the week? We went in for our check-up and my doctor said that my body fought off the internal infection on its’ own! No need for antibiotics! Yes!
Looking Forward to: Buying the baby’s crib, baby carrier and a mosquito net some time next week. A mosquito net is a MUST!
6 thoughts on “26 weeks: Appetite has been off the charts!

  1. Do you use anything for not getting stretch marks? Does the belly feel as if going to crack? It s true that the breast is doubling it s volume and painful, what about the butt lol? Am concerned about how bad the body becomes… And from 1 to 10 how bad is being pregnant compared to what you expected, starting from very easy or much harder than you thought? A lot of questions, I know…

    Like

    • – I use Bio Oil. I forget to put it on here and there but it’s been proving effective so far. Although, I hear that it could be all down to genetics.

      – At times, yes! You literally feel like a balloon blown past capacity.

      – For some reason, my butt hasn’t gotten much bigger. I never had an ass so it’s to see a little somethin’ back there. πŸ˜€

      But my boobs are another story. I went from a 33 inch to a 40 inch chest in 6 months. And yes, it was very tender & painful in the first trimester.

      – As a first-timer, it is nothing like what I had expected. And as to how bad it is to what I expected, I would give it a 6.5. There are good days and bad days. I know there are some women that have a fairly easy pregnancy and others who had to be put in bed rest. It’s all a risk!

      I don’t think a lot of people give women enough credit for bringing life into the world. You are truly putting your life on the line to bring out an one-of-a-kind human being. It’s really amazing what women can do. πŸ™‚

      And no worries. Ask away. I’m more than happy to help.

      Like

      • True, there is nothing bigger than having a child, women should be more appreciated, respected, protected even, for risking their well being, health and life sometimes, plus unbearable childbirth pain. But we have to do it someday despite all the scary things. I guess I ll benefit from your experience when it comes to deal with mine. A big thank you Lisa!

        Like

Leave a Reply

