April trip to L.A. – The final stretch

The last few days at home are always bittersweet. It can’t be just me who suffers from a deep pang of homesickness at the age of almost 28…? It’s a deep internal bruise that throbs & aches nostalgia. It has definitely gotten better with each trip home but it has never decreased in intensity. It’s true what they say. Your home is where your heart is. πŸ™‚

Sunday
What I loved about being home is being able to sleep like a baby. I know it’s because I’m in the comforts of my old bed & room. I fell asleep quickly and woke up feeling like a million bucks almost every morning.

My mid-morning meal consisted of a million strawberries with a bottle of Tazo Iced Green Tea. I absolutely love this tea. I always grab it when I’m at Starbucks.

Image
Image

Isn’t Minnie the cutest? πŸ˜›Β  Since she’s not doing what she’s usually doing: ripping/biting/shredding/ingesting everything she can get her little paws on.

Image

My maid of honor and I decided to meet up @ the Lemonade in Manhattan Beach for brunch. My rookie mistake? Thinking that I would find parking right away. Parking is a nightmare at this time! Public parking is available around the area but it’s small & all metered parking and the ones nearby only accept coins – no card!

After 20 minutes of searching, I finally found parking on Manhattan Beach Blvd. & Tenth. It’s not far but for a pregnant lady? YES! Those hills were a nightmare to climb!


Image
Image
Lemonade is set up like a cafeteria. It remind me of my elementary days. You walk in the door, get in line and grab a plastic tray (if you’re dining in). Ordering is easy & the guys in the back were nice & friendly.

I didn’t grab any of the soups or meat entrees but I did try their Strawberry & blue cheese arugula salad, Spicy butternut squash, Edamame & sugar snap peas and forkfuls of my friend’s mac ‘n cheese dish. Oh yeah and we shared their large spicy passion fruit lemonade. I loved that drink!

The food was definitely healthy but not very satisfying to me. I think it’s mainly my fault since I only grabbed the healthy salads/appetizers. Everyone raved about their mac ‘n cheese but it missed the mark for me. I didn’t find it that different or extraordinary.

Image
Image

After parting ways, I trekked down to The Cheesecake Factory @ The Grove to pick up some cheesecakes for my mother-in-law. I was meeting with Paul’s parents & his sister for dinner and I wanted to surprise her with her favorite desserts. I’m good, huh? :mrgreen:

Thank goodness I didn’t have to wait in that line! Whew!

Image

Image

And you have not been mistaken. I didn’t accidentally include a picture from Vegas. This is actually the lobby area at The Grove for valet customers. Unbelievable! I can’t believe how upscale & … honestly? How ridiculous everything is becoming.

Image
Image

Monday
After a full’s day of driving to and fro and coming home around 10PM from dinner with the in-laws, I was BEAT. I woke up on Monday with a new level of tiredness/fatigue. It felt like all the screws were unscrewed from my joints. My entire body felt rubbery & way too limber. I wanted to stay home all day in my pajamas but I had more errands to run. Boo. 😦

However, this perked up my morning. I love seeing this.

Image
Image

 

 

After running around all day without food, I listened to my inner fatty and gorged on a Taco Bell burrito. I can’t remember the last time I had Taco Bell. 2 years ago? ‘Twas good.

Image


Tuesday
Minnie ripped up my favorite pair of flip flops again, so I meandered over to my local mall to pick up another pair. I stopped by Starbucks on the way and read this interesting article in the New York Times about including more online classes to college courses. I can’t agree with this article more; I wish they had done this sooner!

Image

My late morning meal consisted of a Starbucks grande hazelnut macchiato (it’s new on their menu and SO GOOD!) & this plate of fruits.

Image
The pair of booties my mother-in-law got for the baby. πŸ™‚

Image

One of Paul’s very good friend’s & his wife got this for us Paul. We love it! We need all the help we can get!

Image

The socks my mom got. Too adorable!

Image

I don’t have too many pictures from Tuesday night since it was my last night at home. I think my mom and I weighed my luggage more than 10 times!


Wednesday
I slept @ 11PM & had to wake up @ 3AM to catch my flight. Not fun. My stomach was cramping the entire day & a rain delay in Miami left us stuck on the runway for over an hour. 😦 😦

Breakfast was caught @ Starbucks: Soy latte with a fruit cup. Apple + cinnamon nut Kind bar was eaten during my flight to Miami.

IMG_5212
IMG_5213

Lunch was eaten while waiting for my Miami flight: Turkey & Swiss sandwich w/ 4 packets of yellow mustard (I love mustard). Entire bottle of water.

IMG_5214

 

Most of this apple danish was consumed while stuck on the plane. Unpredictable Florida weather.

IMG_5216

Goodbye, America. You will see me with my baby boy in the fall. We’ll miss you. πŸ™‚

 

IMG_5219

4 thoughts on “April trip to L.A. – The final stretch”

  1. Lol, you have a book?!!!! Hahahahaha, first time parents, I love it! Throw that book out, grab some hooch and strap yourself in. It’s fun and no book is gonna get you through it!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

