April fun in L.A. – Day 1 & 2

Thank you everyone for taking a liking to my previous post, My “comical” dating history. I had written it on a whim and was honestly surprised to have such an enormous positive response! Thank you for your kind words and support. πŸ™‚

On another note, I apologize for not updating sooner. I left for L.A. last Wednesday morning and have been caught up in a whirlwind of appointments, baby purchases, etc. I’ll be here until Wednesday morning so I am hoping to wind down a bit and enjoy the next 2 days without running to and fro.

And just to update you on my journey since last Wednesday, here are the first 2 days of my trip. Enjoy!

Wednesday
Airport breakfast consisted of a sugar waffle & a latte. Yum!

Image

After I touched down in Miami, I didn’t have much time for lunch since re-checking my bags & going through customs took a better of an hour. I quickly grabbed some healthy picks and wolfed them down before stepping on my next plane.

Image

I also grabbed a bar and a book for the ride. I finished the book on my 6-hour flight. I will go into further lengths about my thoughts about the book in a future post.

Image
Image

My side-kick for every plane ride. Isn’t it adorable? My brother got this for me as a farewell gift when I first moved to the Caribbean. It even has a squiggly tail! πŸ˜€

Image

After I touched down, I was greeted by a homemade meal made by my mom. I can’t say it enough but she is the definition of super mom. I just hope I become at least half the great mom she is. She is an inspiration!

Image
Spicy kimchi stew with tofu & pork belly. (κΉ€μΉ˜μ°Œκ°œ)
Image
Grilled mackerel, acorn jelly, spinach and spicy bean sprouts (κ³ λ“±μ–΄, 묡, μ‹œκΈˆμΉ˜ 및 μ½©λ‚˜λ¬Ό 무침)

Image

After dinner, she brought out her frozen homemade dried persimmons from last fall. They thawed quickly and were consumed in seconds… by me. I love dried persimmons. I actually prefer them over chocolate or candy ANY day.

Image

I also had a few bites of some Korean pastries from Tous Les Jours. It wasn’t as good as I remembered it. They seem to be seriously lacking a lot of the yummy filling! 😦

Image

And what would have been the best way to end my tiring day? Going through all the baby items that we received as gifts! Everything was wonderful but overwhelmed me at the same time. I had to stop and get some rest!

Image

Thursday
I woke after a much needed 8-hour slumber. I meandered about my parents house for a bit longer than I should have but… oh well. πŸ˜‰Β  I played with my dogs and then eventually went on a huge Trader Joe’s grocery haul.

That would be our 1 year + 3 month old dachshund, Minnie. Don’t you love how she’s splayed out like that? She gets that from me. πŸ˜›

Image

Freshly homemade soy milk that my mom made for me. Like I said, SUPER MOM.

Image

Trader Joe’s grocery haul. I mainly feast on fruits or bread for breakfast and they didn’t disappoint! I had a few spears of watermelon, cantaloupe, mango & a crumpet slathered with sunflower seed butter. Yummmmmm. (Can you spot Minnie’s nose?)

ImageImage

Image

Always so curious! … and incredibly cute!

Image

Image

Look what came in the mail! πŸ˜€Β  Paul and my birthdays are both in May; we decided to treat each other to our last splurge before the arrival of the baby. They are both unlocked without a SIM card so I’ll have to wait until I head back to my little island to test them out. πŸ™‚

Image

Image

My Mickey. Noticeably larger, I know. He doesn’t seem to mind. πŸ˜€

Image

After a quick lunch, I headed up to L.A. to meet up with my sister-in-law. We headed to The Grove to buy her her early birthday present & chatted while she ate her late lunch. Personally, if I was craving for Mexican food, I would rather eat at King Tacos or at a random Mexican truck. Chipotle isn’t authentically Mexican. And you know it.

Image

I thought I was heading back to the South Bay at a reasonable time of 4PM. Nope. What was I thinking?

Image

I wasn’t very hungry for an actual dinner but always down for some sweet lovin’! πŸ˜‰Β  My dad brought a strawberry pie (my first!) from Polly’s Pies. Oh man, it was sweet. I didn’t eat much of it. I liked the buttery crust though.

Image

Image

Image

I had a hankering for hot milk tea. My brother graciously got me my favorite: hot taro milk tea with boba. MmMMmMm. Paul and I adore taro milk tea. Hot or cold. I don’t know if it will be to everyone’s liking but it’s personally our favorite flavor. It’s purple!

Image

Image

Stay tuned! :mrgreen:

13 thoughts on “April fun in L.A. – Day 1 & 2”

  1. Ahhh you’re in LA!!! :D:D:D I don’t want to bother you now — but once you have your little one and everything we must have a coffee/yogurtland type thingy date!!! hahah.

    PS. It’s been HOTTT.

    Like

    1. Of course! It’s a date! πŸ™‚

      Girrrrrrl, this is NOT hot. My sister-in-law was complaining about the heat and I was like, “Are you serious?!” It felt so nice when compared to the Caribbean heat! πŸ˜›

      Like

  2. Some things that you eat, like the sunflower seeds butter, make me wonder ‘Woah, that even exists?’. Other I don t know what they are anyway, a name I never heard, a look I never saw lol!

    Btw, I was wondering if your family is reading your blog?

    Like

    1. Sunflower seed butter is delicious! Nothing beats peanut butter but it’s a close second for me. I hope you get the chance to try it soon. πŸ™‚

      My family knows of the blog but doesn’t inquire too much about it. I think I like it that way. πŸ˜€

      Like

          1. Loool not really, just I didn’t have the chance… Peanut butter is an American thing, sweetened milk too (I didn’t had that also). In Europe, ain’t smth common…

            Like

            1. Well, the regular stuff: meat, veggies, fruits… Fruits preserves, honey, eggs, butter, milk, cheese in the mornings, cooked food from veggies and meat thrughout the day, cakes and patisserie products as desserts or snacks. When I see American recipes or food adverts and the like, I see all packed, ready to go in the microwave or stuff I never ate before. Even the cereals are not so common in Italy or Eastern Europe generally. I was cutting some tomatoes in big chunks a while ago and my hubby was amused saying that only we, in Eastern Europe eat them like that lol (he has been in Us…) In Italy, They get the long, pink and green hard tomatoes, sprinkle with olive oil and salt… I got to love them too lol! I can t say I prefer a certain cuisine, ate Egyptian, ate Italian, ate Pakistani, Syrian, Iraqi, Chinese, Albanian, Turkish, Romanian, Jordanian, … all good for me hehe

              Like

  3. My neighbor is Korean and she’s never cooked anything that wasn’t ridiculously delicious. She also kept her babies in the house for 100 days after they were born. I never have asked her about why. Will you do this also?

    Like

    1. Ahhh. Yes. I don’t know about 100 days but something close to that. Since the baby will be susceptible to the tiniest change, my mom says it’s wise to keep the baby secluded until he gets stronger. I will do this for as long as I can because I had a huge scare first hand with my younger brother when he was 2 months old. At a family picnic in a public park, he had somehow contracted meningitis. The doctor said that the virus would have reached his brain stem if we had waited one more day. Who knows what could have happened.

      Like

Leave a Reply

