My “comical” dating history

My history with love was… pretty rough. 😳

I went on a lot of first dates, crushed on unforgivable bad boys, was admired by creepy boys, admittedly broke a few hearts and indubitably HATED men/relationships by the age of 24. I even bought Greg Behrendt’s, He’s Just Not That Into You when it first came out because THAT’S how lost I was. Here are a few things I learned from my dating experience:

  • If he changes or stops doing the things he once did. This one guy would call/text me frequently throughout the day but all of a sudden, he was a no-show.
  • Oh and obviously if he disappears/forgets you, don’t be THAT girl who goes crazy wondering if he was abducted by aliens or something silly. Don’t give him the benefit of the doubt because 95-99% of the time, his feelings for you disappeared & wasn’t man enough to tell you otherwise.
  • If you catch him slipping. This one guy I was seeing for a few weeks picked me up and wanted to take me to some fancy Beverly Hills eatery. On the drive there he says to me that I should try the other sandwich he pointed out last week. I told him I had never been to this eatery before. He kept insisting that I went with him last week and that I was wearing a cute gray sweater. I blankly told him, “Sorry. It wasn’t me. I normally don’t wear gray because I have a horrible sweating problem.”
  • “Since I asked you for your number and set up this date, why don’t you call me for the next one? Say, in 2 weeks? I’m busy and I won’t be able to text/call/see you until then.”Β  Yeah. Right. He ended up texting me a few days later to see if I was available. Please go away.
  • He’s separated but still married. ❗
  • When he moves too fast. When he’s a smooth operator. When he TELLS you that he’s a bad guy. When his close friends are all losers. When your gut tells you to run as fast as you can. After a few times around the corral, YOU JUST KNOW.

I personally think it’s all about timing. Timing as in one’s own maturity, openness to love and where one stands at that point in their life. Shoulda, woulda, coulda’s are rarely used in my vocabulary anymore. It is or it isn’t. If not, don’t dwell on things that you can’t or couldn’t have changed. Learn from it and hope for a better tomorrow. Cheers!

ImageImageImage

58 thoughts on “My “comical” dating history”

  1. Howdy! I really loved your writing style – very insightful about relationships.

    I wanted to ask, would you be interested in having a chat about promoting your writing on a social media site called Blurtit.com that I’m launching? We’re a Q&A platform – and I’m really keen to get some talented bloggers involved in our community before we roll out to the rest of the world.

    If you’re interested, please email me at kass@blurtit.com and I’ll send you an invite code to have a snoop around the site!

    Like

  2. Ah yes, timing. My wife and I have been together for 17 years now and but for me walking through the kitchen of a restaurant where we both worked because I’d forgotten something and overhearing a phone conversation she was having at just the right time, we probably would never have gone out on a single date.

    Like

    1. Wow, nice thing! It was kind of timing for me and my husband too, went to study in a foreign country, he was studying there too, and he saw me in his last day there and didn t lose the chance and spoke to me. Had the flight next early morning but returned to marry me :p

      Like

        1. Loool, yes please, can t wait to read πŸ˜‰ some serious rivalry here hehe! we both in our twenties, got married recently, blogging and even more perhaps…

          Like

  3. Hurm… love and love and love… I think it’s about time I wrote about this. Thanks for the post, Lisa. I found your site through “The Girl”‘s link.

    Like

  4. Mmmm! I get this. When I was in my 20’s I heard this thing about dating.
    “Men are like taxi cabs. They will pick you up even when they are “Off duty”, the ride is short and if you are not where you want to be that is your problem. They drop you off and drive away. But once in a while a driver who is “one duty” will pick you up and is ready and willing to take you every and anywhere you want to go.

    It is all about the timing.

    Disclaimer,
    Right now my heart is broken; it is in a coffin, buried deep in the ground. I have no plans of digging it up. I do not want it repaired, mended or anything thing close to it.

    Like

    1. Perfect way to explain it! Thanks for that. πŸ™‚

      I think I know what you mean. Just leave it be. Before I met my husband, I let it be for 2 years after a horrible breakup. I let it marinate and just let it sit there for awhile. I pretended and tried to just go through the motions of everyday life. I turned into a hard ass bitch for awhile. That was fun. πŸ˜€ And then eventually it slowly dissipated and it wasn’t so bad anymore. I felt smarter. Stronger. Sassier for the next one. My husband likes sassy. πŸ™‚

      Good luck to you.

      Like

  5. Never trust a guy who says he is a good guy either. Or the one that complains he isn’t bad boy enough. Oh, there are so many red flags us women like to ignore!

    This was super cute. Especially the comic.

    Like

  6. Thanks for dropping by my blog, FromDreams. I find yours to be quite a novel idea, and I like it.
    Datingβ€”it’s always been my feeling to go out and do things you like to do and you may find someone there who likes to do them, too. In other words, take care of yourself and someone may join your party.

    Like

  7. Not “like”…I loved it!
    Peeksi.com will give people an opportunity to wash away their regrets and make an attempt to change the previously unchangeable…no more “shoulda, woulda, coulda’s” ;).
    P.S. Thank you for liking the recent post =). Warm wishes to you!

    Like

  8. Reblogged this on Em's Top 7 and commented:
    Love this! Amen sister! I feel like all girls need to read this! An excuse is just that- an excuse! Doesn’t matter how good or different, if he truly likes you- he’ll make it happen…

    Like

  9. I think most of us have felt this way, but eventually you have to take a chance on love again. And it’s definitely worth it.

    Really liked your post and loved the comic, great message

    Like

  10. Hey outstanding website! Does running a blog
    such as this take a lot of work? I have very little knowledge oof programming however I had been hoping to
    start my own blog in the nedar future. Anyhow, if you have any suggestions or tips for new blog owners please share.

    I know this is off topic however I just hhad to ask.

    Thanks!

    Like

Leave a Reply

