Pregnancy “blues” = Carbs?

Honestly, I’ve been feeling like utter crap. I’ve been dealing with some sporadic pregnancy “lows” for the past 2-3 weeks but its’ upped its’ ante this week. I can’t call it pregnancy depression but I can’t really say it’s a nice walk in the park either. These are not mood swings as I don’t go from one manic emotion to another. It’s just a dull feeling of sadness that creeps up and disappears in a few minutes. I’ve managed to sense these sudden changes in mood when they come around so I’m prepared for it – but it’s not a nice feeling.

To combat this, I’ve really made an effort to hit the gym or put in some outdoor activity. I think the sun’s doing me some good and the physical exertion is keeping my moods up more than they were. I am not going to let the pregnancy “blues” bring me down! I know this topic isn’t readily talked about since it’s so personal but I want to keep it real. I’ll keep you guys updated on this.

As for today, my husband took me out to shoot the ball around for an hour or so. He knows of my sporadic shifts of lows and he’s been unbelievably supportive! He gives me long bear hugs and tells me I’m beautiful and that I’m the best wife ever<3

Before hitting the courts, we decided to have some fun with the camera. I love having this kind of time with him. šŸ™‚

Image

Image

Image
A wise guy! šŸ˜›

My diet for the past 3 days hasn’t been so awesome. Every time my mood plummets, I’ve been reaching for carbs and sugary food. There is a published scientific article which states that “carbohydrate craving is related to decreases in the feel-good hormone serotonin, which is marked by a decline in mood and concentration” (Wurtman; Scientific American, 1989).Ā Ā I believe I somewhat fall in this category… or the simple fact that the baby is going through a growth spurt. Whatever it is, I’ve felt an immediate change in my mood & food choices this week alone. It’s amazing how every week of pregnancy is a surprise.

Here are a few snapshots of my horrible diet. I think I tried to be healthy but honestly half-assed it more than anything.

Image
Grande soy latte w/ an apple flap.
Image
I’ve suddenly been loving buttered toast. I’ve had this 3 times already this week.
Image
Here’s my attempt at trying to squeeze in some protein.
Image
I think it’s a toss-up when it comes to my favorite carb: Fruit or bread?
Image
Polishing off cereal like it’s no one’s business.
Image
Korean spicy instant ramen. This was one of my worst choices this week.
Image
2 shredded rotisserie chicken tacos with onion, cilantro, sour cream, cheese & Tabasco. Yum!
Image
One of my breakfasts. Croissant wasn’t very tasty.
Image
I love unsalted crackers. I can finish an entire sleeve in no time.
Image
My afternoon snack at work. I tried to be healthier today. What didn’t get pictured was the bag of gummy bears I inhaled. šŸ˜¦
5 thoughts on “Pregnancy “blues” = Carbs?”

  1. Loool at hubby posing like you! I think that one of the most important things when pregnant is to feel that the other cares and tries to help you feel better (even if he doesn t succeed lol!)

    Wow your cereals look like my cereals, yummy cereals! Hehe… And the ramen makes me want beef noodles soup uh! And let s not talk about the green apples, they kept hunting me, not cuse I love them so much but they kept reminding me of your blog when I m out, in the market. How weird is that?!

    Keep us updated hun, it s good to see how you experience pregnancy xx

    Like

Leave a Reply

