My high risk 1st trimester story

Previous posts on my pregnancy:

Image

As a first time mom-to-be, I was soon to discover that my body needed some extra help to support a growing baby. After getting the official word that I was pregnant, I briefly told my doctor about my previous gynecologist visits as a youngster.

Even before I became sexually active, I was put on birth control at the age of 15. I was having heavy month-long periods that would stop for 2-3 days and start all over again. I was tired all the time and fatigued beyond belief. It was clearly concerning my mom. We made an appointment at the Good Samaritan hospital in Los Angeles. She told me that there was nothing technically wrong with me but that I have a hormonal imbalance. She said that I have little to no progesterone.

Progesterone is a female hormone produced by the ovaries during release of a mature egg from an ovary (ovulation). Progesterone helps prepare the lining of the uterus (endometrium) to receive the egg if it becomes fertilized by a sperm. If the egg is not fertilized, progesterone levels drop and menstrual bleeding begins. (WebMD)

My lack of progesterone was the reason I rarely had menstrual cramps. I never knew when the crimson tide would hit because I never received any warning signs. She also told me that I might have a hard time falling pregnant due to this. Even at the tender age of 15, I already knew I wanted children in the future. To know that something was wrong with me as a woman, I was devastated to say the least. I hit some low points for some months after.

During pregnancy, the placenta also produces high levels of progesterone, starting near the end of the first trimester and continuing until the baby is born.  (WebMD)

My pregnancy wasn’t off to a great start. The fetus relies on progesterone to grow before the placenta takes over and at that time, I had no progesterone to help the fetus progress along.

After I told her of my previous diagnosis, my gynecologist immediately put me on progesterone tablets to insert in my yoohoo every night before I went to bed. Before the progesterone pills, I had no pregnancy symptoms whatsoever. But after only 2 days, I started dealing with almost every pregnancy symptoms besides throwing up. I took it in stride because I knew the progesterone pills were to thank for my now normally developing baby. 🙂  She had me use them until the end of my 1st trimester (14 weeks).

I was in constant fear every time I went to the bathroom and looked down. I was scared to exercise. I was scared to this, to do that. I created a cocoon for myself and just waited for the weeks to go by. Just recently, I felt more secure with the pregnancy. Hence, why I felt comfortable to blog again. Besides one small spotting scare a few weeks back, I’m doing well and the baby is growing normally. I know I’m one of the lucky ones. I have heard countless stories from friends of people they know that had lost their babies because of low progesterone. I thank God for finding me a competent doctor who was smart enough to catch the risk.

The first half of my pregnancy was quite the doozy. I’m just praying that it’s smoother sailing from here. 🙂

pregnancy craving

Stay tuned for more pregnancy related posts ahead!

Leave a Reply

