Round-up of my trip to L.A., baby!

As I mentioned in my previous post, my husband and I visited L.A. for a week or so to visit family since we hadn’t seen them since our wedding in October. Paul and I had a blast! We went a little nuts over the food. We definitely missed my mom’s Korean cooking and the cornucopia of food options that L.A. has to offer. I wasn’t able to take that many pictures this time since I ran out of memory. Boo. But enjoy! 🙂

Dunkin' Donuts!My first taste of Dunkin’ Donuts coffee. I know. What rock was I hiding under? I got this @ the Miami Airport while we were waiting for our plane. I got their combo deal of 2 glazed donuts and a coffee. I definitely prefer Dunkin’ Donuts coffee over Starbucks. It’s so smooth and velvety. What do you guys prefer? Dunkin’ Donuts or Starbucks?

Psy & sojuI know Psy is played out but here he is promoting a soju favorite amongst the Koreans at a sports & spa center. I believe all the Koreatown Korean kids went to KLG at one point or another to learn how to swim. I sure did. My husband did as well. They even asked him and his sister to be in one of their commercials. My husband was a cute kid. I was not. 😛

I know it’s Psy and all but c’mon. Promoting liquor for a sports center that many kids frequent?

kimchi jjigae 김치찌개

My mom’s delicious kimchi stew with pork belly & tofu (김치째개) and white rice on the side. I couldn’t get enough!

pig's feet 족발

Pig’s feet (족발). I know. I know. Most of you guys aren’t accustomed to seeing or eating things like this but it’s one of my favorites. I grew up with food like this so I’m not too grossed out. You dip the meat into the shrimp brine and pop a spicy raw jalapeno right after. Yum!

ImageImage

My 1-year old dachshund, Minnie loved sitting on my lap like a cat. She’s a troublemaker if you can tell.

Image

Paul and I HAD to eat at the Village Pizzeria in Larchmont Village. I think it’s our most favorite spot to eat. Food is amazing, service is great and it’s just a fun place to dine.

ImageImage

 I always get the same thing here: A huge slice of their veggie thin crust pizza and a large house salad with balsamic vinaigrette. Love it!

Image

Headed over to The Grove to pick up some Sprinkles Cupcakes for Valentines Day. And yes. We went on V-Day. The line was approximately 30 minutes long. I never in my life waited in line for a cupcake. I have obviously heard of this infamous eatery but never had the chance to try one. So was it worth the wait?

Sprinkles cupcakes at The GroveImageImage

It was good but I think I’ve had better. We got the Black & White, Carrot Cake, Mocha, Coconut, Vanilla and their popular Red Velvet. I am an avid fan of coconut so I absolutely adored mine but everything else was mediocre.

Image

Image

On our trek for cupcakes, we managed to see Mario Lopez interviewing Luke Wilson for Extra. Cool beans for sure.

ImageImage

We dined @ Osteria Mozza later that night for our Valentine’s dinner. Can you believe that I booked this one month ahead of time and the only spot open was for 6:30 and 9:30? I thought I was on top of the game but some had managed to score the best times by grabbing them @ midnight!

This was our third time here and I think it’s time we stopped and ventured elsewhere. Their appetizers and their mozzarella are divine but honestly, their main courses are poor in comparison. 3 times and you’re out!

[Can you tell that I remembered to bring my camera along on V-day? ]

*I also went and got a 3D/4D ultrasound imaging done around this time. I’ll post more about it in another detailed post. 🙂

ImageImage

Paul and my family never tried the infamous Hakata Ramen Shinsengumi in Gardena so we went there for lunch one day. Everyone loved the authentic pork broth and the service there. A must try for anyone in the area.

Naturally dried & frozen persimmons

My mom dried these persimmons a couple of months ago and froze them to eat later. I devoured them all! So delicious. Lynn @ the actor’s diet mentioned that she got her frozen persimmons @ Trader Joe’s. I can’t wait to try them! If you’ve tried them, let me know what you thought of them.

Dog with eyebrows

And is it so horrible that I thought my 6-year old dachshund, Mickey needed some eyebrows? 😛

3 thoughts on “Round-up of my trip to L.A., baby!

  1. I m glad you re back, at some point I noticed the absence of your blog posts to realize that you blog went private so I asked permission of course 😀 Happy to read you again Lisa!

    Like

  2. Great blog right here! Also your site lots up fast! What web host are you using? Can I am getting your associate hyperlink to your host? I want my site loaded up as quickly as yours lol

    Like

Leave a Reply

