How I found out I was pregnant

Disclaimer: This post may contain language that can be deemed as inappropriate for men. Ok. Some women may apply. So watch out! 😉

I found out I was pregnant on the 22nd of November. My period was late but I didn’t  think much of it since I had missed my period for the last 3 months. I think it was due to wedding stress and just not taking care of my body. However, on the 20th of November, I awoke to dark brown spotting. I thought, “FINALLY! The crimson tide has arrived!” But for the entirety of the day, it was just smudges of brown that eventually disappeared into the evening. I became suspicious. I looked up what it could mean and I came across implantation bleeding. “Interesting,” I thought. I ran out and bought 3 pregnancy tests.

Most of the websites suggested to test in the morning since the urine & the HCG levels would be the highest with the first stream. After 3 minutes, I couldn’t believe I was looking @ a faint hint of a double line!!! I jumped on the bed and awoke my husband. It was 6AM. He doesn’t get up until past 11. 🙂  We were both ecstatic and beyond thrilled. However, just to be sure that it wasn’t a fluke, I tested again 2 days later.

ImageThe line was darker! I immediately called to see my gynecologist the following day.

.

I was upset when I saw her. She performed an internal ultrasound on me and said she couldn’t see a sac. What she DID see were small cysts on my right ovary. She diagnosed me with PCOS (Polycystic Ovary Syndrome) and stated that I probably received a false positive reading from an egg not ovulating properly. I was devastated. I was beyond crushed. I went in hopeful for a baby and came out with a diagnosis that could possibly crush my hopes of ever having a baby naturally.

However, she still had me get my blood drawn just in case. And she suggested I come back in another week to confirm the non-pregnancy. 😦

.

A week later, I find out that my blood work had come back and that I had HCG in my blood! Only 167 but still something than nothing! And when she performed another internal ultrasound on me, she and I both saw the same thing: my baby starting to grow. I’m getting emotional as I write this because it was such an intense moment. I felt like that week was an eternity. I felt like I was holding my breath for a miracle. And it came. My baby was there & she calculated that I was about 3 weeks pregnant. No wonder she wasn’t able to see him the week before! He was too small to be seen with the naked eye.

Image
Practicing for the weeks to come!
Image
@ 3 weeks 1 day. I’ve always had a little pooch. 🙂

My gynecologist was being such a sour puss. She said that since my HCG levels were so low, she wanted me to get my blood drawn again in 2 weeks to make sure that my HCG levels were rising. She said that we had to be sure that the baby was growing. She totally killed the Cloud 9 I was zipping away on. 😦

Well 2 weeks later and after more held breaths, she finally concluded that I was officially pregnant when she saw my HCG levels soar into the 2,000s. 🙂  That was the week we told our parents via Skype. My mom said she knew it and my mother-in-law was like, “I’m too young to be a grandma!”

There were hardly any changes in the first few weeks but I thought it would be a fun way to celebrate our growing baby. 🙂

Image
@ 4 weeks 1 day.
Image
@ 5 weeks 1 day.

ImageAnd yes. This is a honeymoon baby<3
If you want to get pregnant, go to Italy. Kim Kardashian can attest to that. 😉

4 thoughts on “How I found out I was pregnant”

      1. Temporary living it’s called, I guess… i may stay gor half year or more 🙂 but not in Rome, in the North, close to Venice…

        Like

Leave a Reply

