Recipe: How to make Korean Meatballs

Ever since I’ve been back from my honeymoon, I’ve been a flurry in the kitchen. I have no idea why. I can’t possibly be domesticated already, can I? Scary. But anyway, I’ve seen my mom make these a hundred times and I got a sudden urge to make them myself.

By the way, we usually make these during Korean Thanksgiving or during the New Year. We call them 똥그란땡. A rough translation would mean ’round disks’?

250 grams of ground beef, 1/4 cup of white onion, 2-3 cloves of garlic, 3-4 minced baby carrots and some walnuts. My mom normally doesn’t use walnuts. I just wanted to try them out. 🙂

Image

Form them into balls and smash them flat. I didn’t want my hand to smell like meat and garlic so I got a plastic Ziploc bag and used it as a glove. Improvisation at its’ best!

Image

Beat 2 eggs, throw in a good amount of salt and pepper and then smother your flour-dipped meat patties in the mix.

Image

And of course, a good heaping tablespoon or 2 of oil. Cook the meatballs under medium heat.

Image

And there you have it. Enjoy them with a dipping sauce of soy sauce and white vinegar. Paul loved it. 🙂

Image

Leave a Reply

