Honeymoon: After Rome, our first day @ the Amalfi Coast

After a long and fun-filled day of the Colosseum and Trastevere, we hailed a cab and booked it back to our hotel. Since we were going to have an early start the next morning, we took a quick shower and started packing our bags.

Image
During our 3-day stay in Rome, we must have seen Gangnam Style on MTV Europe at least 5 times. Go Korea! ๐Ÿ™‚

Image
@ the Rome train station. Surprisingly, this was my first time riding a train.

ImagePaul brought me a delicious custard croissant. Bene!

How difficult was it to get to the Amalfi Coast? Well, we first took a 7AM train ride to the airport, took an 1-hour long flight to Naples, grabbed a bus to the hillside city of Sorrento and THEN we grabbed another bus to the Amalfi Coast. We arrived at our Amalfi hotel close to 4PM.

ImageImageImageImage

What I also didn’t know was that Amalfi is known for their ‘road of a thousand bends.’ The bus ride from Sorrento to Amalfi was almost 2 hours long and I wanted to hurl half an hour into it. I normally do not get car sick but this… this was unbelievably painful to bear. The bus drivers are on a tight schedule and they drive fast, pulling hard at every bend and literally hugging the mountain-side for dear life.When we finally reached our destination, I was weak in the knees and possibly ready to pass out.

But it was all worth it because as they say, beauty is pain! ๐Ÿ™‚

ImageImageImage
Amalfi took my breath away. Pictures do not do it justice.

ImageImage
Our amazing view. I felt like a Hollywood star my entire stay. The most blissful 2 days that I can recall. The Hotel Marina Riviera felt like a living, breathing goddess. The time, effort and love put into this hotel is extraordinary. Every pattern, color, texture and object is warm and romantic. There are random stairwells that lead into artistic corridors and wonderful little knick-knacks hidden all over the hotel. I can’t rave enough about the beauty of this place. I highly recommend it.

ImageImageImageImageImage

After getting settled in, we decided to set out for a bite to eat.
ImageImageImageImageImage
Isn’t this square so quaint? It reminds me of the village in the Beauty and the Beast. ๐Ÿ™‚

ImageImageImageImageImage
I got sick of gelato by our last day. Too much gelato – even for me!

We took a rather long nap after our meal and woke up too late for a reasonable dinner. We took a turn in the night air and went back to bed.

ImageImage

Leave a Reply

