Honeymoon: Our third day in Rome

To start of this post, I must go into more detail about our wonderful hotel in Rome. The IQ Hotel is squeaky clean, close to many of the main attractions and undeniably ultra-modern. And no bed bugs! I was very concerned about picking up a bed bug but thankfully, Paul and I came back home unscathed. 🙂

Image

Image

Image
Each floor had something useful and accessible to all of its’ guests. I couldn’t sleep one night so I had a good time getting some exercise and exploring the place. 🙂 And the IQ Hotel doesn’t have room service but in it’s place? Convenient vending machines! I loved them.

ImageImage
Self-service espresso machine. Surprisingly delicious.

Image

Image
Check out their awesome alcohol-dispensing machine! When I was jet-lagged and roaming around @ 4AM, this machine was less than half stocked! Everyone makes good use of this service. 🙂

Image
Rooftop terrace where you can relax, eat and chit chat.

Image
Gym & sauna. I biked and watched some news. One good thing about being jet-lagged? No lines for the machines at 3AM 😛

Image
Decently sized breakfast bar every morning from 7-11AM for 10 euros. Not bad at all.

ImageImageImage

After stuffing ourselves silly, we got ready to trek on over to the Colosseum!

ImageImageImageImageImageImageImage

ImageImageImageImageImageImage
What’s a trip without a good plank?:P  Yeah. I know. We’re up to no good lil’ rascals. 🙂

ImageImageImageImageImageImage

ImageImageImage

After a fun-filled few hours, we decided to go on the hunt for some infamous pizza in the well known Trastavere neighborhood. I don’t know if it’s necessarily infamous but Dar Poeta was ranked highly on Trip Advisor for best pizza in Rome.

By the way, I absolutely adored the Trastevere neighborhood. I can understand why so many bloggers and websites suggested we stop by. It truly felt like a cozy neighborhood – more like a maze! You can easily get lost here after hours. Bring a map!

ImageImageImageImage
What other thing did I love about Rome? Their fashion sense. Everyone from the taxi drivers @ the airport to the random students on the streets – they knew how to dress. I especially loved the outfit this random girl had on. Her outfit looked like she just threw it on but she looks chic and effortless! This has spurred me on to work on my own style.

ImageImageImage
Paul’s tomato, zucchini, spicy sausage pizza.

Image
My fantastic white pizza with 2 different types of cheese, potatoes and artichoke cream. I can see why this was one of their hot items! I have never had pizza this good. The flavors and the dough! I ate my entire pizza and finished off all of Paul’s crusts. It was that good!

ImageImageImage
Paul read on Trip Advisor that we HAD to get their dessert calzone filled with nutella and ricotta! IT WAS PHENOMENAL!!!!!!! It didn’t matter how full we were. We annihilated the dessert in minutes.

Image
Happy as clam.

3 thoughts on “Honeymoon: Our third day in Rome”

Leave a Reply

