Honeymoon: Our first day in Rome

Paul and I arrived back into our island abode yesterday afternoon. We are both sick with the flu and severely exhausted. The last 11-hour plane ride back to good US of A didn’t help much either. Paul and I ran some errands and were pretty much knocked out for most of the day. I might have to take a sick day tomorrow. No bueno.

Paul and I both loved Roma. The old weaving in with the new was extraordinary. My eyes were constantly enamored with everything this amazing city had to offer. The locals were polite and considerate to tourists and the city was always bustling with energy.

If I had to have any cons about Rome, there were 2 definite things:
1. One constant annoyance were these Indian guys who were selling cheap shawls/scarves. They were EVERYWHERE. The only place you wouldn’t find them was at the Vatican City museum since you have to pay to enter. Most of them would come up to your face and it was quite alarming for me in the beginning. Our tour guide said she saw one of them wiping their noses on them. Do not buy!

2. Pickpockets. I guess straight-off-the-bat, Paul and I looked like obvious tourists. Carrying a backpack, having a camera around your neck and wearing a Dodgers t-shirt does NOT help you to blend in. πŸ˜‰Β  They try to bump into you for no reason and some follow you for a bit. Paul and I had our share of pickpockets growing up in LA – we know what you’re up to, mister!

I’ll post our actual wedding photos when I receive them in the following weeks. But until then, please enjoy our first day, October 22 in Rome.*Note: Many pictures to follow.

Image
My snack from LA to NY. Let’s just say that I shouldn’t have eaten all that cheese…

Image
Delta should really put more of an effort.

Image
Β Now, NY to Roma! My first trip to Europe! πŸ™‚

Image
Our airplane dinner on Alitalia. Cheesy lasagna and cheesy cheesecake did not help my already ailing digestive woes. It was bad. Really bad. 😦

Image
Our “Italian” breakfast. I learned my lesson and stayed away from the cheese/dairy. I had the cherry danish. πŸ˜›

Image
Our very modern hotel lobby. We stayed @ the IQ Hotel. Paul and I loved this place. Everything was spotless, service was amazing, close to many tourist attractions and NO BED BUGS. I made a thorough check of every hotel we entered and also came armed with a bottle of bed bug spray as a precaution. But yes, I highly recommend this establishment. πŸ™‚

ImageImage
These bank armed guards had machine(?) guns resting comfortably in plain view. All the armed guards that we saw had them.

ImageImageImage
It’s supposedly safe to drink from these public fountains. We saw men drinking water straight from the faucet. We didn’t want to.

Our first Roman late lunch at a random ristorante.

ImageImage

Image
Antipasto della casa. I didn’t have any of the meat but Paul said it was delicious. The best thing on this plate was the cantaloupe. I have never had a piece of cantaloupe that good. We were fighting over the last piece!

Image

Image
Image
Paul’s pizza with proscuitto, mushrooms and a fried egg. I believe there was tomato sauce and cheese involved. πŸ˜›

ImageImageImage
After our very lunch, we walked back to our hotel and unpacked. We were exhausted by this point and wanted to crash but we didn’t want to waste a night. We got ready and headed out to find the Spanish Steps and the Trevi Fountain.

We got lost here and there but managed to finally find the Spanish Steps.
Paul: “Hmm. There are a lot of people here. This place must be of great significance.”
Random woman: “This is important. I’m a tour guide and you’re at the Spanish Steps! By the way, where are you guys from? I’m putting this conversation on Facebook!”

So, yup. That’s how we managed to get to the Spanish Steps. πŸ™‚

ImageImageImageImage

We managed to not make a fool out of ourselves and successfully find the Trevi Fountain.

ImageImageImageImage
Made a wish!

Image

Image
We found Gelo Stellato after half an hour of searching. This gelateria was ranked #2 on TripAdvisor.com. The pistachio was my favorite.

ImageImageImage

Image
We realized we were famished and the gelato wasn’t going to cut it. We walked around a few blocks and decided to grab something at a random trattoria.

Image

ImageImage
My boss is Italian and told me that eating artichokes is a must. However, we didn’t know that artichokes weren’t in season. It was our first time having artichokes that weren’t prepared in a dip form. We didn’t like it.

Image

Spaghetti alla carbonara. Our first Roman pasta was simple yet delicious. I can’t wait to attempt this at home.

We got home around midnight and passed out immediately. We had to wake up in 6 hours but it was ok – we were in for a 3-hour tour of the Vatican city museums, Sistine Chapel and St. Peter’s Basilica. Until next time!

Leave a Reply

