Food snapshots from my July L.A. trip!

Beware! – Massive picture post ahead!

No wonder I was able to gain 5.5 pounds in 6 days – I ate like a beast! But I don’t regret nary a bite. If I could do it all over again, I would try to cram in MORE food!

*Note: I will post some wedding preparation pictures in my next post. There were too many food shots in this post alone. But don’t worry, food from my bridal shower and our wedding tasting will be in them. Enjoy. : )*

Image

My snacks on our flight: Drank a hot Korean grain tea that I brought in with me and shared half a sweet airplane cookie with Paul.


Image

We landed in Miami after 3 hours and only 45 minutes to spare until our next boarding time. We were going to be stuck in a metal sardine can for the next 6 hours so we decided to eat something decent. We decided on The Counter. I have only had it once in the Miracle Mile district by the L.A. Tar Pits and this was just as good. Who doesn’t like customizing their own burger? By the way, that burger up there belongs to Paul. I have no idea what he crammed in.

Image

My veggie patty salad with sharp cheddar cheese, hard boiled egg, pickles and avocado with a balsamic vinagrette.

Image

Due to a delay in Miami, we were 2 hours late and arrived home @ 2AM. But my mom had a late dinner/early breakfast(?) ready for us. My mom is seriously super woman. There’s nothing she can’t and won’t do for us kids. She made us some Korean veggie pancakes, egg-battered white fish,….

Image

spicy Korean kimchee dumplings she made & steamed herself, …

Image

and broiled kimchee with pork ribs. Paul inhaled this. We went to bed stuffed!

Image

The next morning, we went for a solid 2 mile run and headed over to Mitsuwa for some lunch.

Image

We’re lucky we got there a bit early. By 11:30, there was nowhere to sit!

ImageImage

The Japanese ramen Paul and my brother ordered. This is nothing like Top Ramen or Cup Noodles. Not even in the same food group, buddy! : P

Image

My lunch of grilled mackerel (my favorite fish) and…

Image

… yummy Japanese udon. Delish!

That same night…. we had a 3 course dinner with my grandmother @ Arado. Mind you, this is also the day we had 2 different cake tastings and had countless bites of cake. We do it, gangnam style. (hehe).

ImageImage

Abalone porridge & salad for starters.

Image

My grandmama<3

Image

Sashimi

Image

I don’t know what it’s called but it’s the cheek of a fish. So soft and tasty.

Image

매운탕 = spicy fish stew.

Image

Little drumstick ice cream cones as dessert. They’re the cutest little things!

Image

 

Friday: After I got my make-up and hair did, we had lunch at The Novel Cafe with my maid of honor in the Wilshire district. This was the first time she met Paul, my fiance. I know. It’s weird but many of friends haven’t met Paul yet. Almost all of them will be meeting him for the first time at the wedding. What I learned from my past relationship blunders was to be more discreet. I knew Paul was a keeper and I wanted to protect our relationship. I think it was a smart move. : )

ImageImage

I heard some stories about hair, fingernail clippings and dirty band-aids being found in their food but I never believed it. I became a believer that day. Paul found not only 1 strand of hair but found THREE more embedded in the wrap itself. It was disgusting. I will no longer be dining here.

Image

Maid of honor’s salmon salad. She said it was bomb, yo.

Image

My fruit & goat cheese salad. I adore goat cheese. It has become my favorite cheese.

Monday: Running wedding errands with Paul and my future sister-in-law. We always drop by the Village Pizzeria when we’re in town. I actually used to live near Hancock Park for 9 years or so, so I know the Larchmont area well. I’ve been coming here for the past 7 years. Their veggie pizza and their house salad with balsamic vinagrette is DIVINE. My favorite pizza thus far. My slice of pie! : )

ImageImageImageImage

My sister-in-law got the Baked Ziti with homemade sausage. Judging by the picture, you can tell that there was no area unturned when it came to the avalanche of cheese. Yum!

Tuesday morning: After my 9:30 appointment with my dermatologist, I had a meeting scheduled with my wedding planner at The Donuttery. I’ve never been there but heard really great things about it. Holy moly. I had THE best glazed blueberry donut. I ordered a dozen and was waiting for my wedding planner to pick out her dozen. During those two short minutes, I had manged to polish that blueberry donut and half a custard donut. Heck, I think I deserved a donut after my hectic schedule. Hmmm. I wonder what gave me that idea?

Image

Image

I managed to finish 1 glazed, 1.5 glazed blueberry, 1 pb&j, 1 strawberry and 1 custard……… I forgot that we scheduled a wedding food tasting later on that afternoon AND an early dinner with our wedding officiant and his wife. When it came to food, our last day in L.A. was EPIC to say the least!

Image

Pretty gnarly hours.

Image

Peanut butter & jelly donut. A simple pb&j will never be the same……

Image

Finished off the rest of the custard donut in the car……. : P

2 thoughts on “Food snapshots from my July L.A. trip!”

  1. Omg I am familiar with all the places you mentioned, but have never tried The Donuttery, and am now dying for a cream filled one! Jelly filled were my favorite growing up. 🙂 I can’t believe I’ve never even heard of it! Wahhh.

    Like

Leave a Reply

