My 20’s in a nutshell

As I edge closer onto the precipice of my dwindling 20’s, I look back at my early 20’s with mixed emotions. I was a complete party girl from the ages of 19-23. Fresh out of college @ 22, I started my first job. For the next 2-3 years, I found it difficult to transition from my wild college days to 8 hours at a stiff bank. My group of 20-something misfits and I would meet 3-4 times a week and drink our “stressful” sorrows away. Even up to the age of 25, I was able to chuck back drinks like the next guy and spring back to work with vigor the next morning.

But somehow just like clockwork, as the year of my 26th age began, I was suddenly faced with real adult issues. 2011 was not a good year for me and yet…. it was the year that I probably needed. My personal growth shot up exponentially last year. Personal, familial, career, relationships, friendships, my faith with God, …. everything seemed to be on the cusp. 2011 changed my life in so many ways that I don’t know if I should revere it or regret the whole year.

And now, here I am. 27 years old and getting married in less than 3 months time. Wow. I definitely feel a little more mature than I did in my early 20’s. I’m hardly that wild child anymore. I still go out with my girls once in a blue moon but I don’t feel compelled to party until the sun comes up. I guess I’m finally partied out.  I don’t feel as insecure and awkward when I think of myself as an adult anymore. However, it’s quite jarring when I’m recalling a story from my early 20’s and I start off the sentence with, “When I was younger……” I was with my mom when I first said that this year and our eyes met mid-sentence. She smiled and said, “Oh. So what are you now? One of us?” Oh man. That was rough. : )

2 thoughts on “My 20’s in a nutshell

  1. I’m in my mid-twenties too and just realizing the actual adult-issues of life. Aren’t 20s the weirdest time? I’ve yet to find my “place”

    Like

Leave a Reply

