Food update and new Korean recipes. : )

I commend those who are able to blog everyday about food. Kudos to you. I, on the other hand, cannot. I was in the doldrums (The Phantom Tollbooth plug!). I grew tired of constantly updating & writing on food.
So, I have decided to write whatever comes to mind and whenever I wish to do so. You will see more of my personality coming through. Of course, food will still be a big factor. A girl’s gotta eat! : )

Image

My love of green will never fade…

Image

Re-introduced small amounts of coffee back into my diet. As well as….

Image

…. fish! In assessing my diet the last few months, I have realized my skin, hair, and nails have suffered greatly as a vegan/vegetarian. Ever since last week, I have been trying to eat fish at least twice a week or more. I try but I keep picking vegan options! I have to re-train my taste buds and habits.

Image

I’ve also been trying to incorporate more protein… (That’s a tofurky, by the way)…..

Image

… as well as more tofu and veggies.

Image

Image

I’ve also been whipping up new recipes at home. Chilled Korean potato, egg, and ham salad. I call this Korean because I often see a lot of Korean cafes, bakeries, and restaurants serving this sandwich. I made this just from memory and Paul loved it! You just chill everything overnight and then slather as much as you want on 2 pieces of bread. 2 thumbs up!

Image

Chilled Korean Potato, Egg, and Ham sandwich
1. Boil 6 fingerling potatoes & 3 eggs in different pots.
2. Dice up 1/4 cup of ham (you can forego ham or use another type of deli meat, but ham is typically used for this recipe), 1/4 cup white onion, and boiled egg whites. Save 2 egg yolks for later.
3. Smash well-boiled potatoes into a smooth consistency. I used the back of a sturdy spoon. : P
4. Put in the 2 egg yolks and mash it into the smashed potatoes. This will give the potatoes a smooth consistency.
5. Throw in ham and onions. Mix well.
6. Salt & pepper to your taste.
7. Chill overnight!

Image

I saw this recipe floating around the web. Banana soft-serve ice cream! In a blender or food processor, process 2 cut up frozen bananas. A bit of almond milk might be needed to slough the bananas. I threw in some chia seeds for some fiber. Delicious!

Image

And yes, I am still in love with hot oatmeal. I took this one to work today because I was short on time. 1/2 rolled oats, 1 large banana, 1/2 tablespoon of chia seeds, and 1 tablespoon of sunbutter. Kept me full for close to 5 hours!

Image

Healthy Traditional Korean Zucchini “Pancakes”
1. Use half a large zucchini. Cut into 1/2 inch disks.
2. Whisk 1 whole egg & 1/2 teaspoon of baking powder into a bowl. Season lightly with salt.
3. Coat a couple of zucchini disks at a time in the egg mixture.
4. Spray a pan with Pam and keep it under low-medium heat.
5. Place egg-coated disks in pan and flip when edges are golden brown. Same for other side.
6. Dip in soy sauce & white vinegar (2:1 ratio) sauce that you’ve whisked earlier.

Have a great week! Bon siman!

Leave a Reply

