Hump-ity doo dah!

We’re close to the weekend! Woo-hoo! : )

Another swamped day at work but I prefer this over twiddling my thumbs and not having anything worthwhile to do. I must say that I got pretty lucky getting a job here. All the girlfriend’s and wives that jumped on board this island with their partners didn’t manage to get a job with the company.

Even the one month that I was unemployed was becoming a pain after the 2nd week. I would wake up late, eat a nice lunch, grab a book and a few beers and head to the pool. I managed to get a nice tan and somehow lost some weight but I was bored out of my mind. I barely moved since I was still getting adjusted to the Caribbean climate and I had no friends or anyone to talk to after Paul left for work. Wow. That was last July. It’s going to be almost one year since I left the good ol’ US of A. How time flies.

Image
My usual breakfast of 2 granny smith apples doused in cinnamon and 3 boiled egg whites. Adding the egg whites was a stroke of genius! It truly keeps me satiated and gives me sustaining energy until noon.
Image
1/2 rolled oats, 1/2 banana, tablespoon of jam & organic peanut butter, and a teaspoon of vanilla extract. I love the warmth and comfort hot oatmeal gives me. It feels like an indulgence. : )

Image

Image
Cut up a cantaloupe for a snack. I was able to cut right through it with no trouble at all. Perfectly ripe.

Image

Image
Afternoon snack of 1.5 cups of cubed cantaloupe and one kiwi. Is the ice cube too obvious? I was trying to chill some of the cantaloupe while I ate my kiwi. : P
Image
I can taste the kiwi all over again when I look at this picture. My mouth salivates and the sides/back of my tongue tastes sour. Pavlov’s conditional reflex at its’ best.
Image
And then….. I saw the can of Rainbow chips frosting in the back of the fridge. I HAD to have a taste. I wish I can eat the whole tub. : (
Image
Dinner menu for tonight: Turkey quesadillas for Paul and vegan tacos for me. These refried beans are delish! It’s spicy and oh-so smooth with 0 grams of fat.  A must buy!

Image

Image
Paul’s quesadilla: 1/4 cup of refried beans, cut up turkey slices, 1/2 cup of white onions&corn, and a generous sprinkle (oxymoron!) of shredded cheese.
Image
Served with sour cream and the infamous pika!

Image

Image
Now, my version had a layer of refried beans as well with a good helping of sliced bell pepper, diced raw onion, corn, pika, and yummy hearts of palm. I forgot how much I used to crave for them.
Image
Another successful vegan taco! I can’t believe how yummy this was. So good that I’m going to eat a burrito version of this for dinner tomorrow!

Image

Image
Had a good hunk of my 2nd attempt at making an ice box cake. This one included cool whip, wafers, vanilla pudding layer, thick layer of peanut butter infused cool whip, and a nice coating of shredded coconut. This one came out much better. : )
Leave a Reply

