Put a fork in me! I am done for the day!

I had quite THE day. I feel foolish complaining about the lax day I had at work yesterday. Today was like that of a 3-eyed monster that suddenly saw it’s reflection, painted the town red with obscenities, and agonized everyone with its’ inability to parallel park. Hmmm.. sounds like Hollywood on a Friday night. : P

All the work that didn’t come yesterday were figuratively thrown at me with buckets. Some of them were dirty buckets at that. Office politics – but I won’t venture there. It’s never pretty, is it? Work is work. Don’t let it ever get personal.

Image
My usual breakfast: Unsweetened venti black tea lemonade, 2 granny smith apples with cinnamon, and 3 boiled egg whites for a morning snack.
Image
While I was at Starbucks, I got this sinfully decadent chocolate brownie for my favorite girls at the office.

Image

Image
Cut them in half and left it at their desks. They love it when I surprise them with goodies. : )
Image
Lunch: 1/2 cup rolled oats, 1/2 banana, and a tablespoon of organic peanut butter. And it definitely tasted better than yesterday’s oatmeal. The banana and the peanut butter flavor cuts through my thick oatmeal.
Image
My first attempt at making an ice box cake with wafers and smashed bananas. Paul enjoyed it frozen but I can’t cast my vote on it yet. I didn’t hate it but it wasn’t as amazing as I expected. Guess what I decided to do?
Image
I decided to try again! : P
This time around I cut the wafers in half lengthwise. The wafers were much too dense in comparison to the graham crackers that were suggested in the recipe.
Image
The Cool Whip topping might look a little strange….
Image
… that’s because I added a heaping tablespoon of peanut butter into it! I stirred and whipped until they became as one. I also added a layer of vanilla pudding into one of the layers.

Every time I make a mess in the kitchen, I decide I should mess it up even more since it’s already dirty. : P  I decided to make some granola balls. In lieu of my previous granola bar creations, I decided to try something different. I used the same ingredients as before but just rolled them in my hands and then rolled them in shredded coconut. They look amazing! I stuck them in the fridge for now. I’ll take a taste tomorrow. : )

Image
Dumped my wet ingredients (1/2 banana, 2 tablespoons honey, 1 teaspoon vanilla extract, 1 tablespoon peanut butter) into the dry.
Image
Threw in 5 chopped dates.
Image
Mashed them about with the back of my spoon.

Image

Image
Took little tablespoon amounts and rolled them in the palms of my hands until they resembled nice round mounds. : )
Image
Rolled them in unsweetened shredded coconut for the finishing touch.

ImageImage

 The end? Nope. Not today! I still had to make dinner. 1.5 hours flew by! On the menu tonight? Shredded chicken and veggie fried rice for Paul and tofu and veggies with rice for me.

Image
Heat up stove. Extra virgin olive oil. Frozen veggies. Stir and cook. Toss in shredded chicken. Salt, pepper, and all-seasoning spice mix. Crack in 2 eggs and tablespoon of sesame oil. Stir until everything is incorporated well.

Image

That red sauce? That is what the the islanders call Pika. I probably mentioned it a few times but it is amazing! I never had that kind of flavor profile hit my taste buds until I came to this little island. I think they’re pickled hot peppers but it starts off sweet then sky rockets to a different kind of spicy. So good!

2 thoughts on “Put a fork in me! I am done for the day!”

Leave a Reply

