Love of food = Foodie = Lisa

Work was unfortunately pretty slow today. One of the hang-ups of working on the weekend is finishing everything ahead of time and not having enough things to do the following work day. Lesson learned! : )

Image
Breakfast: 2 granny smith apples sprinkled with cinnamon.
Morning snack: 3 boiled egg whites. The protein satiated my appetite and my constant desire for sweets.
*Note to self: Eat eggs in the morning.
Image
Lunch: My oatmeal flavor helpers today included a teaspoon of vanilla extract, 1 tablespoon of unsweetened shredded coconut, 1 tablespoon of mixed berry jam, and a tablespoon of sunbutter.
Image
Coconut looks like asbestos.
I ran out of bananas and it definitely made a difference in my oatmeal. Even with the jam, it wasn’t as sweet as I like it. I’m going to try taking the jam & coconut out tomorrow and only use 1/2 a banana.
Image
After I mixed all the ingredients together, it didn’t taste much like one or the other. I’m going to use peanut butter again instead of sunbutter. The sunbutter flavor gets washed out. : (
Image
Afternoon snack: 1 kiwi and a large pear. I love the tartness of the kiwi. Yum!

One of my most favorite bloggers, Lynn from The Actor’s Diet showcased an easy yet scrumptious ice box cake yesterday and I immediately craved for it. I’m always on the look out for No-Bake recipes since our stove is a definite life-threatening fire hazard.

[To light the oven, we have to strike a match, stick our head in the oven, and aim for the open hole. I DO NOT WANT TO DIE ON THIS ISLAND.]

Today was grocery day so I decided today was the perfect day to make my first batch. : )  I haven’t tried it out yet but I will tomorrow night! Thanks Lynn!

Image
I decided to make a small batch since this is my first time. I also substituted the strawberries for bananas since strawberries are extremely expensive here. And for the life of me, I couldn’t find any graham crackers. I decided to use vanilla wafers instead. Hope it comes out ok!

Image

Image
Layer of Cool Whip and then a layer of the wafers.

Image

Image
I decided to mash it up with the back of my spoon.

Image

Image
All done! I was able to only fit 4 layers. And no fancy chocolate or extra garnish on mine. Maybe next time. : )

After placing my ice box creation in the fridge, I decided to start prepping for dinner. Beef tacos for Paul and soy sauce sauteed tofu tacos for me.

Image
Chopped up 1/3 onion, 1 de-veined jalapeno, and 1 hollowed out tomato. I have never been a fan of tomatoes. I have always disliked them as a child and hasn’t really changed as an adult.
If I have to prepare them, I always hollow out all the seeds because they create too much liquid.

Image

Image
Heat the pan. Pour a tablespoon or 2 of extra virgin olive oil. Dump 200 grams of ground beef. After it browns, stir 1/3 of the Southwest taco seasoning and 1/4 cup of warm water into a bowl. Dump it into the pan. Mix well. Simmer. Serve.

Image

Image

Image

Image
This was my first time eating a tofu taco and it was fabulous. I had 2 stuff-to-the-edges tacos. Didn’t even need the cheese or the sour cream. So simple. Why didn’t I think of this before?!

Image

Image
Paul’s beef taco with all the trimmings. He ate 6.
Image
Watched an episode of The Simpsons while I ate. You blinked! : P
Image
It just happened to be the episode where Michael Jackson sings happy birthday to Lisa! : )*
Image
Dessert: My homemade raw granola bar. Yummy!
Paul ate 3 as a snack! Must make more some time this week. : )
Leave a Reply

