Oats. That’s what’s for breakfast.

I had quite the exciting morning in my kitchen. I slept pretty early last night and woke up a wee bit early this morning. Paul was still asleep so what do I do when I get bored? I go to the gym and watch TV! : P  I still got a pretty good workout – 500 calorie deficit!

Body rant: I’ve been working out consistently for the past 11 months and I’ve only managed to lose 3-4 pounds. It’s very frustrating but I know it’s my fault because I LOVE TO EAT!

Even though the scale says one thing, every time I head back home to L.A., everyone always remarks how I lost so much weight. It’s dumbfounding, really. Perhaps because they haven’t seen me in awhile? Perhaps it’s the island tan? They’re just being nice? Or… is all that consistent exercise actually paying off? I’m assuming that I’ve lost body fat and have gained definition and muscle mass in its’ place. Even though I know I’m leaner and more toned than I’ve ever been before, the number on the scale infuriates me. I know, I know. I’m still working on body acceptance.

Back to my exciting morning! After I came back from the gym and had 2 apples with cinnamon, I had that rare urge to stir things about, fling shredded coconut into every crevice, have dirty pots and pans in the sink, and just make a good ol’ mess everywhere.
: )

Image

Image
Shredded some Let’s Do 100% Organic Unsweetened Coconuts flakes in the blender. Let’s just say I wasn’t bright enough to think of funneling the shredded coconut into this widdle jar. There was a fury of coconut from counter to floor.

Image

I had decided last night to make my yummy hot oatmeal for lunch but decided to do something else on the whim. I saw this post, Breakfast Cookie Dough Cereal on Fitnessista’s site and decided to make that instead. I used 1/3 cup raw oats and smashed it down with 1 tablespoon of peanut butter and vanilla extract. Poured in 1/2 cup of almond milk and let the oats soak up the liquid for a minute or two. So simple and delicious! I still prefer the warm comfort of cooked oats though. But still a good recipe if you’re short on time.

Image

And since the kitchen was a mess anyway, I decided to make my first batch of granola bars. I found this Vegan No-Bake Protein Bar recipe online and created my own yummy snack. I didn’t put in any protein powder because I assume the oats and the peanut butter would do a good job of filling you up anyway.

Image
1 cup oats
Image
3 tablespoons of unsweetened shredded coconut
Image
5 chopped dates
Image
Wet ingredients: 1/2 banana, 1 tablespoon of peanut butter, couple shakes of cinnamon, 1 teaspoon vanilla extract, and a tablespoon of honey.
Image
All mashed up!
Image
Poured the wet ingredients into my dry. Combined well with the back of my sturdy spoon that I stole from a hotel. : P

Image

Image

Image
Spread the mess out on a saran wrap and molded it into a rectangle. Stuck it in the freezer for an hour.

Image

Image
Ate a few boiled eggs while I waited.

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image
Wrapped the rest in saran wrap an stuck them back in the freezer.
Image
So proud of myself! Delicious and only 93 calories per bar. Beats a Special K bar ANY day! : )
2 thoughts on “Oats. That’s what’s for breakfast.”

  1. Yum! Nice post. You are right: homemade bars like this are SO much better than bought ones, just takes a while to make them, but it is a fun process right?! You have got me inspired to make some too!

    Also: I like what you say about eating. I love to eat too, and am proud of it! Well done on the exercise though. Definitely good to have a balance 🙂

    Cheers!

    Like

    1. Thank you for such a sweet comment. I’m happy to have inspired you! : )*
      Moderation is key to living well with a full belly and a smile on your face.

      Like

Leave a Reply

