Books and its’ correlation to food: Part 3

 

The Witches by Roald Dahl was first introduced to me by my 4th grade teacher. After lunch, she would have us kids unwind by sitting quietly and listen to her read a book for half an hour. I was instantly in love with this book. I think I borrowed a copy and never returned it. I’m sorry, Mrs. Bourguignon! This book talks about the presence of witches clothed as a seemingly normal woman. She can be your neighbor down the hall that asks you to tea or the sweet lady who offers you a sweet.

You can usually spot a real witch if you pay close attention. A real witch will always wear gloves. Even in the summer. She has long hideous claws. If you watch her closely, she will always have a limp to her stride. A real witch has boxy feet with no toes so it would be difficult for her to walk in heels. A real witch will have a light blue tinge in her spit and a wig because real witches are as bald as an egg. Mind you, this is all from memory. That’s how much I re-read this book. : )

The book goes into depth about The Grand Witch and how she plans to wipe out all the children of the earth. She plans to do so by creating her own chocolate bars and dropping in a drop of her Formula 86 Delayed Action Mouse-Maker potion. She plans to have all the children turn into little mice so they can be exterminated by unknowing adults. It was the most absurd of ingredients. I recall boiling down the wrong end of a telescope, the tongue of some strange animal, and an alarm clock. I lapped it all up. The preparing of ingredients (even though it did not deem edible in the slightest), talks of sweets/chocolate, and the unconditional love from the grandmother. I loved it and I still do. Never gets old!

 

Madeline L’Engle’s Wrinkle in Time. There must be only a few of you who have not had the chance to read this amazing book as a child. If so, I urge you to get a copy. A must read if you’re a major sci-fi reader like me. This book was THE book that launched me into science fiction. This book changed the way I viewed the world and what words can do. This is another all-time favorite that I undoubtedly read over a hundred times or more.

“You’d better check the milk,” Charles Wallace said to Meg now, his diction clearer and cleaner than that of most five-year-olds.
“You know you don’t like it when it gets a skin on top”*
“You put more than twice enough milk.” Meg peered into the saucepan.
Charles Wallace nodded serenely.
“I thought Mother might like some.”
“I might like some what?” a voice said, and there was their mother standing in the doorway.
“Cocoa,” Charles Wallace said.  “Would you like a liverwurst-and-cream cheese sandwich?  I’ll be happy to make you one.”
Russian caviar sandwich and a liverwurst and cream cheese sandwich. At the tender age of 8, I had no idea that these foods existed. I still didn’t know until I looked it up on the internet years later.  Wikipedia states that liverwurst is a liver sausage. It is a compilation of pig liver and veal liver. I can’t stomach the idea. And at this age, the only hot chocolate I ever had was from a  packet. I didn’t know you can make it with milk! I only used water! My hot chocolate experience was elevated like no other that day. : )
[If you enjoyed this post and would like to see the previous posts, please click here for part 1 and here for part 2. Enjoy!]
Another book I read in the fourth grade is called Nothing’s Fair in Fifth Grade by Barthe DeClements. I never heard of dieting until I read this. Honestly, I still don’t think I understood what a diet was even after I read it. I couldn’t differentiate what fat and skinny was at that age. One of the main character, Elsie is an overweight girl who gets taunted by her peers. While her classmates eat their warm and toasty lunches, she is to only eat what is in her carefully prepared lunchbox. Something about a thermos of skim milk, celery and a soup. She gets so hungry that she begins to steal lunch money from her classmates so she can buy candy. It also shows how Elsie tried to stick with her diet at a slumber party. While everyone else had sugary drinks and junk food, Elsie only consumed grapefruit juice and popcorn. This book stuck by me because it was a great story of young girls who were growing up in a society much like our own. Perhaps it was due to the times but I don’t think this book got as many negative reviews as Maggie Goes On A Diet. Perhaps it was a bit too forward with the title of the book?
3 thoughts on “Books and its’ correlation to food: Part 3

  1. Pingback: Disney movies and their correlation to food | lisa laughs

Leave a Reply

