Books & Quotes

This is a completely random post. Some quotes that I saved over the years. Just on a whim here.

“Because it is my name! Because I cannot have another in my life! Because I lie and sign myself to lies! Because I am not worth the dust on the feet of them that hang! How may I live without my name? I have given you my soul; leave me my name!”

Arthur Miller: The Crucible

“I had lived my life one way and I could just as well have lived it another. ”
Albert Camus: The Stranger

“Oh, I remember…Listen, don’t hate me because I can’t remember some person immediately. Especially when they look like everybody else, and talk and dress and act like everybody else… Everything everybody does is so – I don’t know – not wrong, or even mean, or even stupid necessarily. But just so tiny and meaningless and sad… All those egos running around feeling terribly charitable and warm. Kissing everybody and wearing their makeup all over the place, and then trying to be horribly natural and friendly… I’m sick of not having the courage to be an absolute nobody.”
J.D. Salinger: Franny and Zooey

“…there are nice things in this world – and i mean nice things. we’re all such morons to get so sidetracked. always, always, always referring every goddamn thing that happens right back to our lousy little egos.”

J.D. Salinger: The Catcher in the Rye

“You think of yourself as having the only problems, as being the only one who is disappointed. But just look around you and you will see lots of people as disappointed as you are.”
Tennessee Williams: The Glass Menagerie

Leave a Reply

