Books and its correlation with food – Part 2

I said I would post more in my earlier post, so here it is! I hope you enjoy this post as much as I enjoyed writing it. It took me back in time. Back to the times of reading under my blanket with a flashlight. Reading in the back of the car on one of our 3-hour camping trips. Reading while my mom waits in line at a Bank of America on Saturday mornings. Reading outside on the steps when my parents fought. Reading while enjoying a nice bubble bath. Books are my oldest and dearest friends. I keep them close because they fill my thoughts and soothe my soul. Enjoy. : )

Little House in the Big Woods by Laura Ingalls Wilder

“Grandma stood by the brass kettle and with a big wooden spoon she poured hot syrup on each plate of snow.  It cooled into a soft candy, and as fast as it cooled they ate it”

“They could eat all they wanted, for maple sugar never hurt anybody.”

“There is plenty of syrup in the kettle, and plenty of snow outdoors.  As soon as they ate a plateful, they filled their plates with snow again, and Grandma poured more syrup on it”

I first got a hold of this book in the 4th grade. Since then, it has remained a staple in my reading repertoire for years. I have re-read it so many times that the front cover came off a few years back. I love books that can transport you into another time. Especially a time of simple ways and responsibilities. There are a lot more food related descriptions in the book. Such as salting and curing venison and other meat in barrels so they wouldn’t have to worry about food during the harsh winters. Describing how Laura’s mother made butter from cheese whey and cream, how Laura burned her tongue by eating the roasted pig’s tail too quickly, and helping her mother bake bread. I was a foodie in the making!

The Phantom Tollbooth by Norton Juster

There aren’t many food references in this book but the Subtraction Stew always intrigued me. The more you eat, the hungrier you get. I love how this book incorporates math, science, literature, and fantasy. I’ve read this countless times as well.  This book is all about zaney make-believe and wonderful adventures into other worlds. How is it that this book has not been made into a movie?!

Ramona and Her Father by Beverly Cleary

I think almost everyone from my generation has read at least one Ramona Quimby book. Am I right? : P  This book was THE book that piqued my curiosity about hamburgers. My mom always bought me the usual plain McDonald hamburgers that came in a Happy Meal. After I read this book at the tender age of 8, I knew I had to get my hands on a REAL hamburger. Here is the excerpt from when they visited their beloved Whopperburger restaurant:

Ramona bit into her hamburger.  Bliss.  Warm, soft, juicy, tart with relish.  Juice dribbled down her chin.  Ramona caught the dribble with her paper napkin before it reached her collar.  The French fries – crisp on the outside, mealy on the inside—tasted better than anything Ramona had ever eaten.

It was very clear to where I should go to fulfill my quest of eating Ramona’s burger = Burger King. C’mon. The Whopper. I remember it being phenomenal. What books can do. : )

More to come soon. : )*

5 thoughts on “Books and its correlation with food – Part 2

  1. Omg Ramona Quimby was one of my favorite books growing up! So was little house on the prairie. I actually remember a part of a book when Ramona was at a restaurant with her family and she ordered a hamburger with peanut butter?…at the time I thought that was SO strange, but now I could definitely see more people doing it– since there are so many strange combos these days that are actually pretty tasty.

    Like

  2. Pingback: Disney movies and their correlation to food | lisa laughs

Leave a Reply

