Back on the island = Healthier eating

Back in LA, there would always be yummy but bad things lying around the house. My mama would whip all sorts of delicacies and I would nosh on snacks and mini meals all day. I could also just drive to any convenient store or market for anything my heart desired. Here? Not so much. Everything is usually in Dutch and I’m still not acquainted with many of their European snacks. And since it’s perpetually hot and humid here, we never try to buy anything that will go rancid in a day – IE: strawberries or any type of berries, certain fruits, and milk. Even though they’re in the fridge, the opening and closing of the fridge door will indubitably sour our fresh produce within a few hours.

The island is incredibly small as well. It’s usually much too hot to go out for a run during the day and the pesky mosquitoes come out to play around 4-8PM. We don’t have a TV in the apartment so DVDs and the internet is all we have. The internet gets boring after awhile. I go to the gym almost everyday for an hour or so since I’m bored and there’s nothing else to do. At least I can say that I live a much more healthier lifestyle here. : P

We slept in yesterday and today until 12. It was glorious! : )  We went to Deli France for a late brunch yesterday, worked out, and ate leftovers for dinner. I watched Benjamin Button last night and I absolutely loved it. I can’t believe he didn’t win an Oscar for that role. Brad Pitt was incredible and Cate Blanchett was gorgeous as always.

Image
My caprese salad for lunch @ Deli France yesterday. My favorite! Couldn’t finish it so I packed half of it to go.

Image
Image

Image
Paul’s much needed cappuccino with a butter cookie. He got 12 hours of sleep – Saturday & Sunday combined though. He is one of the countless men that have taken Diablo 3 as their mistress. I am an understanding woman. I will let it slide…. for now. : P
Image
Paul’s New York sandwich (chicken, bacon, tomato, and cheese). Look at all that cheese!

Image

Image
Oh man, didn’t know it was that dark. For dinner, I had the leftover veggie stir-fry from the night before. Also, a granny smith apple and 2-3 cups of Kashi cereal.

Today, we went to a Dutch supermarket and stocked up for the upcoming week. The place reminds me of an IKEA. Paul and I are locking down on our diets until our engagement shoot in July. Well for me, I’ll be locked down from now on until the wedding. Must lost those pesky 5-7 pounds! How they elude me so! I keep losing and gaining the same 5 pounds. : (

Image

Image
Cheese galore! They don’t joke around when it comes to their cheese.
Image
I’m assuming it translates to Tiger Bread. I wonder why…
Image
Refrigerated Dutch delicacies. They’re into a lot of creams & sauces.
Image
Paul’s late lunch @ 2: Chicken fried rice with vegetable curry. He fork-fed me a few bites. It was yummers. : )
Image
Wasn’t too particularly hungry so I whipped up some comforting oatmeal for my lunch. 1/2 rolled oats, 1.5 cups of h20, 1/3 banana, 1 tbls of peanut butter, and a tbls of strawberry jam.
Image
Stirred in. MmMmmmm..
Image
The beachy view from our balcony. Can’t complain too much. : )
Leave a Reply

