My birthday dinner

What do Koreans do on their birthday? Eat at an AYCE (all-you-can-eat) meat buffet. I am obviously a vegetarian but I chose to do AYCE because I know it’s cheap, the rest of my family loves meat, and the restaurant we went to is a close friend of my dad’s. They’ve been friends for over 15 years and every time we dine at his establishment, he always gives us the best cut of meat. Not that he doesn’t serve great meat to everyone else. : P  He sends us plates and plates of meat that he doesn’t serve to the rest of his patrons.

If you guys get the chance, please try to visit Mapo BBQ. I’ve been to many Korean BBQ restaurants but he truly serves the best cuts of meat. He cuts all the meat plate by plate as you order and he makes sure to come by every table. And the soda is free on Monday-Wednesday! : )

Image

Image
The salad is phenomenal! He knows that a lot of people are allergic to peanuts so he concocted his own dressing that’s made of Ritz crackers. Ingenious! Sorry for those who are gluten-free. : /
Image
Whole garlic roasting pleasantly on the side. You have to make sure they don’t burn!
Image
I can never remember what this side dish is but I absolutely love it. I can eat this everyday if I can. It’s not a noodle. I think it’s some kind of vegetable? It’s crunchy, soft, savory,…. yummO.
Image
Seaweed and onions with spicy&sweet paste (고추장) side dish
Image
Acorn (묵) side dish.
Image
Steamed egg dish with veggies. I told him I was a vegetarian and he specially made it himself!
Image
Spicy tofu stew. Another vegetarian dish made by the owner. Everyone gobbled this up!
Image
I am the daughter of a butcher so I know my meat. Even though I didn’t eat it, I can just tell that the quality of meat was top-notch. The marbling was exquisite. There were no leftovers. : )
Image
오둘고기. I don’t know how to properly translate it but this meat is difficult to prepare and not available in most markets NOR is it listed in his restaurant menu. This is the meat that’s in betwixt the bones so you know it’s extremely flavorful.
Image
I told them to smile. I got a grimace. : P

My birthday cake and pastries were from King’s Hawaiian. I am lucky to have this bakery/restaurant in my neighborhood!

King’s Hawaiian Bakery & Restaurant opened its doors on Sepulveda Boulevard in Torrance in 1988 and quickly became a landmark for Hawaiians living on the mainland. The irresistible Hawaiian food coupled with the warm “Aloha Spirit” that is the trademark of this family-owned business has made King’s Hawaiian Restaurant a gathering place for families and friends throughout Southern California.

King’s Hawaiian Restaurant offers a variety of Hawaiian and Classic American dishes, as well as attractive new foods that are our connection to the new Hawaii. In addition, our retail bakery is one of the highest volume bakeries in the state.

Image

Image
Their infamous ‘Paradise Cake.’ Almost too pretty to eat. Almost.
Image
Afterwards, I met up my maid of honor at a nearby cafe. She had a birthday gift for me! : )  It’s the middle of May and they still have their Christmas lights up. I think a lot of us are guilty of this. : P
Image
She is too sweet. I love her. ❤
Leave a Reply

