I’m on my way up!

Today was quite the interesting day. For breakfast, I had my usual smoothie with frozen strawberries, 1/2 banana, and almond milk with a granny smith apple. I wasn’t able to have my usual oatmeal for lunch because I was asked to dine out with my direct supervisor and the head of our department. We went to the Marriott hotel and I ordered a delicious Caprese sandwich on poppy seed bread with a side of French fries. I normally don’t carry my camera with me when I go to work, so unfortunately, no pictures of my scrumptious lunch. : (
But on the up side, I am getting a raise and a promotion! Eeeek! I didn’t even expect it!
: ))))  I have only been with the company since last August but they really know how to treat their employees. I JUST got my 2011 raise and bonus a few weeks ago too. And this as well? This is the icing on the cake. I’m very excited about this new opportunity. : )

For dinner, I made a simple chicken chili. I heated a big wok with some olive oil and put in about 500 grams of ground chicken. After browning the meat, I threw in half an onion and 3 cloves of minced onion. After it simmered down for a few minutes, I dumped in a can of diced tomatoes & a can of chili pinto beans. I just eyeballed this to our taste but I sprinkled in some freshly cracked pepper, chili powder, cayenne, paprika, oregano, all spice, garlic powder, and cumin. I tossed in some cooked corkscrew pasta and put in a couple cups of water. Gave it a good stir and put a lid on it on low heat. Let it bubble away for a good 15-20 minutes. I served it with some low fat mozzarella cheese and finely chopped onion on top. Yummy!

ImageImage. To end the night, I sliced 2 kiwis and a very ripe mango. So good! I’m getting better at cutting away the skins. Not great but better. Must save more flesh! : P

Image

Image

If you have noticed, we only have one set of small to medium to large dishes. It came with the apartment soooooo why spend more money, right? : )  Have a great night! It’s Friday tomorrow! Woo-hoo!

Leave a Reply

