Hump day!

Wednesday notes the near end of the work week. Huzzah!  So excited for our anniversary weekend. : )

The Caribbean weather started off warm as usual but edged more on the gloomy and cool side. A just foreshadowing of the sudden and unexpected rainstorm we experienced later in the afternoon. What we don’t have in the Caribbean? Foggy days. The fog is comforting and reminds me of a comfy blanket. There’s an air of tranquility and calmness about it. I personally love foggy days thanks to a book that was required in my 3rd grade curriculum: Fog Magic by Julia L. Sauer.

Did you guys happen to read this as well? I actually stole the book from my 3rd grade classroom because I loved it so much. Sorry, Ms. Sherman.  I kept re-reading it every year. Books like Fog Magic, The Lion, The Witch, And the Wardrobe, and A Wrinkle in Time truly set the groundwork for my love of fantasy, science fiction, and books in general. Losing myself in a book is a wonderful past time of mine. I hope I can pass this love affair of books to my future children as well. Paul does not read. : P

For breakfast, I had a refreshing smoothing of frozen strawberries, almond milk, and half a large banana. Also had some green grapes and a few unsalted Premium crackers. I am definitely overloading on carbs this week! I heart carbs.
And I also made the infamous breakfast cookie last night and it came out better than I expected. I ate half portions of it throughout the day as snacks. The recipe is simple, it keeps you satiated, and puts your sweet tooth in check. I will gladly make it again. : )

Image
I love my Starbucks cup. I love that even with a icy drink, it doesn’t perspire and sweat all over my desk. Score!

For lunch, I had a hearty bowl of oatmeal with mashed bananas, strawberry jelly, and almond butter. Paul had a man-sized plate of a 7 egg-white omelet, 3 pieces of turkey bacon, and a medley of bell peppers, onions, and fingerling potatoes. He completed Tony Horton‘s P90X challenge. Paul likes his protein.

Image

Image

After work, I managed to squeeze in my necessary 45~50 minutes on the elliptical. I had absolutely no energy yesterday but today was another story! I felt like I could go for another half an hour. It probably helps that every machine is installed with a TV. Paul and I purposely didn’t purchase a TV when we first moved in. We wanted to cut costs and besides – we have a wedding to save for! : P

I made a few adjustments to this recipe that I got from the Food Network. I gravitate toward Giada’s simple dishes but it sort of bothers me that her cleavage is always hanging out. Is it just me? But anyways, I first heated the pan on low to medium heat and coated the pan with some Extra Virgin Olive Oil. I sauteed some diced turkey bacon for a few minutes and then tossed in the chopped white onions. A few minutes after that, I threw in the diced asparagus, minced garlic and a sprinkle of salt and freshly cracked pepper.

Image

After the combined ingredients started singing, I tossed in the cooked tri-color pasta and proceeded to crack 2 whole eggs and some low fat Parmesan cheese. Gave it a good toss for a minute or two and prepared the plate with Paul’s spiced pre-made chicken breasts.

Image

Unfortunately, I didn’t eat much of this dinner because I was fixated on my craving of Kashi’s Autumn Wheats. Once I’m obsessed over something, I have to have it until I get absolutely sick of it. I had a Fage Greek yogurt affair that last a good 2 months. : D  I had 2 large servings with a sprinkle of some unsulphured cherries. Delicious! And of course, I can’t forget about dessert. Sweet dreams!

Image

Leave a Reply

