Almost perfect Tuesday.

Hmmm. Somehow my post disappeared? I hope this is just a beginner’s hurdle? 2nd time’s the charm!

Even though I only got 6.5 hours of sleep in lieu of 7.5, I seemingly woke up on the right side of the bed this morning. I got to work by 7 and enjoyed some delicious granny smith apples sprinkled with cinnamon. I am normally a Fuji fan but the tart/sweet combo of these green apples are winning me over! For lunch, I cooked up some rolled oats with bananas and swirled in some strawberry jelly.

Image

Paul was still asleep so I surprised him with some turkey bacon, fried eggs, and french toast with honey.

Image

After work we rushed over to the supermarket to pick up some goodies. Tuesday is grocery shopping day because we figured out that’s the day they stock up on their inventory. I have been craving fruit ever since I became a vegetarian last month so I picked up some yummy mangoes, kiwis, dried cherries, green grapes, bananas, frozen strawberries, and more granny smith apples.

Image

Do you see the Chips Ahoy that Paul sneaked in?

After our grocery haul, I skipped on over to the gym for a quick run. Switched to an elliptical half way through because the A/C in the gym was broken! I was feeling dizzy which I know is a sign for me to stop.  I think it’s the first 10-15 minutes that I despise when I start working out. After that passes, I feel more energized and ready to kick some butt!  : )

I personally prefer pastas with no sauce but I decided to cook up a tomato sauce based pasta for dinner. The Prego jar has been sitting in our cupboard for over a month now. Unopened of course. I drizzled in a tablespoon of Extra Virgin Olive Oil and cooked 3 slices of turkey bacon. I slotted them out after 5 minutes or so and without cleaning the pan, sprinkled in some chili flakes to flavor the oil ( I picked the turkey bacon out of my dish before consumption. ).  Then I threw in the chopped white onions and broccoli. Once the onions became translucent, I put in about a good 3/4 of the Prego sauce and the cooked turkey bacon. I let it simmer for a good 15 minutes on low heat, threw in the cooked pasta, and layered on the low-fat Parmesan cheese with a heavy hand. I let it simmer for another 5-7 minutes – I wanted it to resemble a lasagna of sorts. The pasta came out fantastic!

Image

 I had some room for a sweet snack so I had a bowl of the Kashi Autumn Wheat with a cup of almond milk and dried cherries. Hit the spot.

Image

It was the perfect way to end the night UNTIL my fiance asks if we can move the date of the wedding. One of his best friends can’t seem to make it. I got upset because I couldn’t believe he could ask me such a question. Move the wedding for ONE person? After all the planning I’ve done for the past 4 months? Ridiculous. We had set this date as of last year and he knew how much this meant to me. He now says he’s sorry. He says he wasn’t thinking. Sigh. Men.

I still haven’t read the Hunger Games. I hope I can find the first book this weekend. They were sold out the last time I checked. Boo. I hope I can grab a copy before I watch it in the theaters. I am and have been an avid bookworm since I’ve laid my eyes on a book. Fun fact about me: Even though I was born in the US of A, I was placed in ESL (English as a Second Language) until the 4th grade.  My first language was Korean and it didn’t help that my parents put me in an all-Korean preschool either. Interestingly enough, by the time I was in middle school, I had forgotten almost all my Korean. Due to the constant frustration of asking my mom to decipher simple words, I asked my mom to admit me into a Saturday Korean class. After 2 summers and thanks to many of my Korean friends, I am fluent in both languages. Another fun fact: I have never been to Korea. When people ask me what I am, I unblinkingly tell them that I am an American. Born and raised! : )

We just celebrated our 2 year anniversary this past Sunday and as a special treat, Paul booked a night at a plush hotel for this upcoming Saturday. I can’t wait! ♥

Leave a Reply

